Search
< Back to Product

Ariens 921038 Gas Two Stage Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$1,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Ariens 921038 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (12)
Features (8)
Easy To Use (7)
Durable (7)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Cons
Heavy (5)
Expensive (4)
Bad Instructions (3)
Possible Problem Obtaini... (1)
Written Words For Assemb... (1)
91% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
54 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Free Thewhales
Queens, NY
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought 102015...no Use Till Nyc 2nd Largest Snowstorm Ever
So 10/2015, I bought the ARIENS for the engine CC size for a 24inch unit and ARIENS reputation.

Twiddling my fingers and thumbs for the past 3 months till 01232016 when NYC got hit by the 2nd largest snowstorm ever.

I live in Queens and got over 28 inches with drifts in my driveway of over 3-4 feet high. I cleared my 80 foot driveway, my walkways and my rear yard in about 8 hours.

Wow 8 hours you say that is too long. But my driveway does not allow me to pile snow on the sides. I have... more
View Image
Free Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Lorne M.
Burlington, MA
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
What Is Going On With The Chute???
My wife bought me this monster for my retirement gift before the winter of 2014-15. I live in Massachusetts and we were buried. Unfortunately, the control chute for the snow broke down and I had to hold with one hand while trying to control blower with the other. The store I bought it from had to pick up and repair it.

Received it back and during the next big storm the same thing happened halfway through my efforts to blow driveway. With the non-stop forecast of more storms I just lived with... more
Lorne Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lorne,
We're sorry to hear you've had issues with the chute control on your machine. We apologize for the frustration and inconveniences you've experienced. The dealer is your best resource for diagnostics and repair, but they are also welcome to contact us for any further questions or help with the repairs. We will certainly work hard to resolve any outstanding issues with your machine through the dealer. Thank you for your patience and understanding! If you have further questions for us, feel free to contact us through our Customer Support Site
Thank you,
Tyler K
Ariens Company
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard C.
Sherburne, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/28/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Made In Usa Family Owned
Just bought this snow blower and at this time with no snow yet have not used it. We chose this snow blower because of brand name, is built in USA and is a family owned company. One of the features that we like is how easy it is to change the snow discharge chutes direction. One thing that I would have liked to have had on this blower is a hour meter. Because it did not have one, I installed an after market one on this blower.
Pros: High Quality, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Richard Recommends This Ariens Product
Richard's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Snow Blower Direct answered my questions fast . Has good competitive pricing and very fast in delivery Will buy from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Vern M.
Maplewood, MN
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Would Like All To Read This
I purchased last year in October thinking I got the very best snow blower I could. Powerful engine, headlight, HAND WARMER. But the most important thing for me is EASY TURNING, which is important for an 80 year old.

All worked well. Except for the easy turn - it simply was not true. I struggled with that machine all last year. Then I read a review on Polly skids and gave them a try.WOW what a difference.Now I have the Blower I thought I was getting.
shame on Airens for not furnishing them... more
Vern Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
101
John
Woodbridge, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/24/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Champ!
Have used this twice now in the last couple of weeks. It arrived at the tail end of the first major east coast storm of 2016, which had 2+ feet of snow in our area. This thing chewed through that, as well as the snow-plow wall at the end of the driveway without issue. Plus it shoots snow two stories high into the air.

The smaller storm we just experienced recently was much smaller, so you could expect that it had no issues with that either. This thing does everything. No problems at all... more
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Ronald S.
Montoursville, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 6/23/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Assemble
Arrived on schedule and was in perfect condition. All fluids and tire pressure was as called for. Was very easy to assemble.
Ronald Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James M.
Manitowoc, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Snow
Bought on clearance end of season. So far, seems like a robust machine. Assembly was pretty straightforward and it is ready to go for next winter.
James Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John H.
Davidsonville, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It Is May And Ready For Snow
Gave this to my brother who will retire in a couple months. Overall a pretty impressive unit. Don't look too hard at the directions as they are broken out into such small detail as it it is hard to figure out what/where they are describing. It is not difficult to figure out the assembly process as it is practically assembled already.

One word of caution...my brother tightened down the bolts on the handles that are folded down for shipment and one of the saddle washers... more
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Matthew D.
Lone Tree, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/3/16
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Torque
I m up at 8000', so standard engines are sadly powered w power loss of 4% per 1000' above sea level. This gorilla eats everything and launches it above trees and low house/garage roofs. PERFECT for heavy spring "mud"
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Abs None
Matthew Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven D,
Fenton, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Is A Tank!!
Only had to use it a couple of times as I bought it at the end of February, but it laughs at snow!! Was able to clear both mine and my elderly neighbors driveways in less than 30 minutes and the pathway between the two too!

Exceptionally well built and fires up on the 2nd pull each time (have yet to try the electric start.
Steven Recommends This Ariens Product
Steven's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"From order to delivery in less than 3 working days!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robin G.
Frederickburg, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/1/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love At First Sight
I went with the Platinum 24 SHO and really glad I did. Ordered from Snow Blowers Direct on a Monday got here on Friday. Very timely as we got about 8 inches of snow the following week. Did my driveway as a test run and then helped the neighbors do theirs all on one tank of gas. As expected, it was like bringing a gun to a knife fight, and made short work of the job. But, I like knowing I can take on 2+ ft of snow in my driveway the next time it comes. This blower is everything they say it is... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Robin Recommends This Ariens Product
Robin's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Really liked my experience with direct ordering from SBD. Ordered on Monday, arrived on Friday. The shipper was perfect called me exactly when he said he would and arrived when expected. The SBD staff was professional, knowledgeable and courteous. Answered all my questions. If you need a snow blower, these are the guys to call!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris S.
Fairfax, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/1/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product - Very Positive Snowblowersdirect.com Experience
I finally pulled the trigger after the January 2016 East coast blizzard, ensuring there would be no more snow this season. So far so good!


The ordering and communication from Snowblowers Direct and the shipping company were excellent. The snow blower arrived very quickly and in perfect condition.

Assembly was very straightforward - just follow the instructions and take your time...I took no more than a couple of hours of 30 minutes here and there to get it put together. Started right... more
Chris Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Benjamin K.
Haymarket, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Platinum 24 Sho
First time buyer of a snow blower. Had always used an ATV, but wife wanted a snow blower. Well I learned years ago to buy bigger and better than what you think you need and you may only need to buy once. This Snow Blower was more than expected.It took on 35+ inches of snow like a champ and engine didn't seem to even notice.. Was blowing it 30 to 40 feet at times. No problems to speak of and no regrets at all. Steering can be challenging at times but the steering assist works.The bigger engine... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Benjamin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Clay C.
Bountiful, UT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/2/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Terrific Snow Blower
My first Ariens snow blower has lasted 26 years. It still works and will be used to clear my backyard patio. I wanted a newer unit to clean my new front yard circular driveway and sidewalk. I reviewed different snow blower at local dealers. I chose the Ariens 921038 and found it online at the same price with a discount for paying by check and front door delivery.

It has lived up to my expectations. It can throw snow over 30 feet from my front porch to the street. The hand warmers and... more
Clay Recommends This Ariens Product
Clay's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Website was easy to use to order the unit. I liked the 2% discount for paying with a check. However I did not like the 5 day hold on my check because it cleared in 2 days thus delaying shipment."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
D C
Bernardston, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/3/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First New Machine
I was tired of used snow blowers and hand me down POS. Ordered a new machine and now I'm waiting for it to snow.

Delivery was prompt and assembly was not difficult. I actually got a good chance to lube all of the cables and linkages as well as making sure there was grease on the auger shaft and the drive axles.

I will use this snow blower to clear paths to out buildings and small areas for farm animals. I have a plow for the driveway.

I could have purchased locally for the same price... more
D Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Harold S.
Norwood, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/10/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid
Shipping company placed the boxed and pelleted machine in my unlocked garage, and locked garage as I asked. Took about an hour and a half to assemble. Started right up with no problems.

I particularly like the sturdiness of the chute control - one thing that bothered me about the box store models I looked at.

Haven't had the opportunity to use it yet - no snow in Massachusetts this winter - yet.

All in all the process of purchasing, delivery and assembly was quite easy. I would... more
Harold Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Todd M.
Dearborn, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/22/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Transaction And Blower As Described
Machine arrived on time, the day it was promised. It was well packaged. Good job by Snow Blowers Direct and the shipping company.

Ariens Platinum 24 SHO looks pretty bad ass. The small amount of assembly for handle and chute was fairly painless. As I have heard, it is true that the pictorial instructions were rather cryptic. No problem, though. Anyone with an IQ higher than a cement block could do the job without the paperwork.

Nice machine, although a bit pricey for a model of this... more
Todd Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Chris H.
Calverton, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/26/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tons Of Power
The snowblower was excellent for the blizzard of 2016. It had plenty of power to cut right through 28" of snow and snowdrifts. Throwing the wet snow over 50 feet with no problem. A little pricey but well worth the money highly recommend for a 24 inch snow blower
Chris Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Brian T.
Frederick, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Snowblower
The snow blower works great. I wish I had gotten the 30" but the 24" will be easier to haul on my hitch haul.
Brian Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Abdul Tayyab
Aldie, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
They Don't Call Back
I was in search of a blower for the storm that was coming and found this website .. They seem to have all the answers when I was trying to buy it but then when I got it it was some what already assembled but not done correctly and now I'm stuck with it....and none to help
Cons: Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use, Packaging, The Shooter Does Not Work
Abdul Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Abdul,
I apologize for your dissatisfaction with your order. These units arrive pre-assembled from Ariens factory directly. If assembly was done incorrectly, this should be covered under warranty at a local Ariens service center. Have you reached out to Ariens directly at 920-756-4688 for assistance with this issue? Let us know if you need further assistance contacting them to get this resolved.
more
Was this review helpful?
02
Mark
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful
I got a new 369 24 SHO unit this year. The good news is that it will remove almost anything. Today it was able to remove the wet salty slime the state plow pushed onto our driveway. It is easy to start if you follow directions (always use the choke.). The hand warmer is really nice.

The downside is that although the "auto turn" does really allow easy turns, it also makes the device hard to keep in a straight line. At the top two speeds, keeping a straight line is almost impossible.... more
Pros: High Quality, Will Blow Wet Snow
Cons: Heavy, Hard To Keep In Streight Line
Mark Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
47
Rodel Delos Reyes
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/30/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty
I have used my brothers 2 year old platinum 24 in the past and when I bought my house I was sure I had to have one. This year for the same price this more powerful engine was available so it was a no brainier.

I shopped around at the local big box stores, sears and independent distributors. It was exhausting to find so many different features and price points. For me I needed power and dependability since the plow trucks point the plow to my side of the street. Most cheaper snow blowers I... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Rodel Recommends This Ariens Product
Rodel's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Purchasing could not have been any easier. Shipping though I could have saved the $50 since after speaking with the driver he mentioned that they only had trucks with a liftgate on them."
 more
Was this review helpful?
422
D. W.
Summit, NJ
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Upgrade From Snow Blowers Direct .. Very Satisfied
Pros:

Snow Blowers Direct: Highly recommended. Ordered Sat & shipped on Monday. They answered my call & addressed my delivery service issue promptly.

Shipping: Used lift gate, on a pallet & totally enclosed in heavy duty cardboard, perfect condition, shipped with oil.

Assembly: 30 minutes, controls & chute, not hard.

Start up: literally 1st pull

Cons:
None, would order from Snow Blowers Direct again.

The past:
For past 10 years I used the Ariens 8524 (8.5... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Price, I'd Buy It Again
D. Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
254
Lady S.
Queens, NY
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Expensive But Built Like A Brickhouse
SBD is fantastic as is the bottom line price compared to getting it from other sites or locally.

The major issue is setup but if you can handle that, then you get a good deal with no tax or shipping expensive except for the lift gate service.


The price is expensive for the unit but all my local and online dealers charged same price or even more along with shipping and taxes. So in my opinion SBD delivers the best price as long as you can handle the 2 hour assemble.

As others have... more
Pros: Features, High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Bad Instructions
Lady Recommends This Ariens Product
Lady's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on 10/08/2015 and arrived via trucking company ABF on 10/14/2015. I mis-understood meaning of lift gate service and did not order it at time of order. I called and spoke to Brian at SBD late on 10/12/2015 and he upgraded my delivery to include lift gate for the normal fee of $50. Brian then faxed the updated information directly to ABF. Delivery date came and ABF showed up within the delivery time frame and brought the unit via a palletjack up to my garage which is about 80 feet from the road. It comes on a large pallet that the trucking companies use to move to and fro but directly attached to the the ARIENS box is another smaller better quality palleted that is securely attached to the ARIENS box. This is great as it isolates the box from the larger pallet and possible damage from the forklifts/palletjacks. The driver even helped to remove the unit from the larger pallet and remove it to his truck. SBD use of ABF was great and the delivery was so quick and easy to set up a delivery window. SBD also came through when I discovered my chute had interior cosmetic damages and exposed metal as well. They arranged for a can of touch up paint and a new chute to be delivered. The price is expensive for the unit but all my local and online dealers charged same price or even more along with shipping and taxes. So in my opinion SBD delivers the best price as long as you can handle the 2 hour assemble. As others have said the pictograph chart leaves a lot to be desired. I used the chart, online videos and the actual manual to reinforced the pictograph diagrams. With another person took about two hours but I took my time. The procedure if you have your tools ready should take at best less than an hour."
 more
Was this review helpful?
234
Jeff
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Blower For New England
Just ordered an Ariens Platinum 24 SHO between the major snow storms this year. The machine came just in time for the last storm which dropped about 18 inches of fresh snow on top of the many feet of snow we already had. The shipping times and delivery were as advertised. This machine was perfect! It powered through all of the new and old snow, allowing me to easily handle the snow banks left from the plows as well as widen the paths for the sidewalk and driveway. I was able to clear... more
Jeff Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
217
Erwin H.
Draper, UT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/12/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Jury Is Out
Received and assembled the snow blower - no problem.

However, I could not control the speed adjustment lever - even though I would set it in the "slow" position, once in drive it would slowly creep into the "fast" position on its own accord.

I called Ariens. It seems the wrong control panel was installed, this model should have had notches to hold the speed in any given gear, but the machine I received did not -- even though the panel label had the correct model... more
Cons: Wrong Control Panel Installed
Erwin Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Erwin,
We're sorry for the trouble you've been through. If you continue to have a hard time, give us a call and we'll help you out.
more
Was this review helpful?
173
Bob
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/19/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Impressive With One Major Flaw
I ordered the Ariens Platinum 24 SHO machine to replace my 18 year old Ariens. The ordering and delivery process was efficient and prompt. Assembly took about 1.5 hours ( except as noted below). The assembly cartoon aides were not as detailed as I would have liked, but eventually things came together, and the unit started up once I got the choke set correctly.

The machine is much heavier than my old one, so I'm glad I did not get the 30 inch. It appears to be significantly more powerful.... more
Bob Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
157
Matthew
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally
I have been plowing farms or commercial lots since I was 10. Thirty years on, I made a jump. I have owned several snow blowers, a small Toro , a Craftsman, a thirty year old MTD. I live just outside Boston. This year has been a slow motion disaster. Kinda like a tornado, but really really slow. After the first storm, which was a 2' snow fall, I decided that it was time for a real snow blower. A grown up snow blower. I think this was one of my best choices ever as an adult. In less than... more
Matthew Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
147
Douglas C.
Elkhart, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/27/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Time Customer
I have a 100'X150' lot, 50 ft gravel driveway and corner lot with sidewalks. After 8 years of using a single stage, 22" Snapper & putting more than the cost of the unit in it in maint. & repairs... I have used Ariens snow throwers at work and was impressed enough to purchase my own. It should be the last snow thrower I buy for the next 20 years!
Douglas Recommends This Ariens Product
Douglas's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Pros- conveinance, selection, factory direct and ease of ordering. Cons- Tried to pay by check via USPS and after 12 days it never posted. Had to cancel order and pay by CC. Some assembly required. Heavy duty in construction and heavy in weight. Have yet to fuel and start it.... waiting on the snow."
 more
Was this review helpful?
82
Kevin
Redstone,, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/14/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Big Snow Arrived!
Purchased the 24" SHO to plow take care of the snow at our second house in Colorado at 8,000 ft on the western part of the state. We don't own snowblowers where we spend most of our time, so buying a snowblower was a from-scratch experience for me. Buying locally in San Antonio wasn't a choice, plus the problems relocating to Colorado. Local options weren't too good in Colorado as we are in a rather rural mountain area.

First, after looking at a few online stores, I became... more
Kevin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Andrew P.
Brookfield, CT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/22/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 24" Sho, Great Blower!
I've been waiting to review this until I actually had some snow to try it out on. SnowBlowerDirect shipped this unit out to me very quickly, but I haven't had the chance to use it until last week.

We received about 4" of snow/slush the night before thanksgiving, and I figured this is the ultimate test for a snowblower. I proceeded to check the oil, first start, and initial belt run-in. After making the adjustments as the manual describes I was ready to go. Since the unit is still not... more
Pros: Features, Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable
Andrew Recommends This Ariens Product
Andrew's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Snow Blowers Direct has some of the best products offered, the best prices around for power equipment, and ships quickly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Anthony Z.
Garden City, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Snowblower is fantastic however, the machine came slightly damaged. The on/off switch was broke off completely. Also, the wheel lock on one side was missing parts. I was able to obtain the parts when I emailed snow blowers direct.

Another issue I had was assembly. I understand they come direct from factory which is how they offer such good prices but the chute comes unassmebled and is quite complicated to assemble.

When I reached out the first time for help they gave me 2 service... more
Anthony Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
73
H. S.
Three Mile Bay, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/24/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Experience.
Unlike a previous supplier's product, which was returned, the equipment arrived in pristine condition, shrunk wrapped like a newborn. It was also prompt with no hassle.
H. Recommends This Ariens Product
H.'s Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A++"
 more
Was this review helpful?
62
Michael M.
Demarest, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/9/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good.
Snowblower was shipped the same day it was ordered and arrived 5 days later. Assembly took about 40 minutes.The engine had the correct amount of oil and the scraper blade and skid shoes were already at the proper height. The wordless instructions were somewhat difficult to understand but my prior mechanical experience was a big help. I've operated older model Ariens snowblowers at work but this one has several new features that I look forward to using. My only concern is finding warranty... more
Pros: Features, High Quality, Easy To Use, One Hand Operation Of The Chute From The Control Panel
Cons: Bad Instructions, Possible Problem Obtaining Warranty Service
Michael Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Cjs
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Impressions - Assembly Info
It'll be a two months or so before snow and I get to use the "beast", but here are my thoughts from delivery through assembly..

First, the snowblower was delivered the same week that I ordered it. I opted for lift tailgate delivery and the trailer truck driver readily unloaded the Ariens and with a pallet truck brought it down my 100 foot driveway and placed it where I wanted it in my garage. The snowblower comes in a cardboard box on a wooden pallet. The driver would have... more
Pros: Features, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Written Words For Assembly
Cjs Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
85
Emilio P.
Wakefield, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/30/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Performance
Snow Thrower arrived in a pallet box mostly assembled with oil on the engine and greased. Works very well, and did not get clogged once with 3 ft+ of snow.

Auto-turn works but it still needs a bit of a push sometimes. It seems to have a differential so it's easy to turn in neutral and the system works well keeping straight and on small angle turns. It needs a bit of effort on 90 degree turns. Engine starts on first push most of the time.

The SHO engine is worth it. It did not show any... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Emilio Recommends This Ariens Product
Emilio's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great purchase shipped the same day and arrived promptly (Less than a week to MA). Shipping is free but if the forklift service is required then shipping is not quite free (And unless it's delivered to a commercial building with a shipping dock then the forklift is needed). Website is very clear on specifications for each model comparison tools and reasonable prices. Shipping was very fast and very pleased overall with the transaction."
 more
Was this review helpful?
74
Joseph P.
Edison, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Need Lessons
Holy Mac, so much snow 50 feet in the air, total white out!! After the dust cleared a little, across the street was a pile shaped like a snow man, I was shocked when a little slit opened and it talked, it was my neighbor Ruth!!!

I ran over, dusted her off and breathed on her glasses a little, and she said, "what about that car" I looked and there was a car in the snow bank, people getting out laughing though and the guy said his kids enjoyed it all!!

Man, does this machine... more
Joseph Recommends This Ariens Product
Joseph's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I couldn't believe how fast I got my thrower and choosing the right one for me was fun because of PED's super efficient web site store. I can't begin to say enough about how well this whole purchase went. The delivery guy put the box exactly as I asked. The box was so perfectly square and untouched, undamaged and the product inside would seem to glow in the dark. I froze outside building it, but it was exciting and too much fun. PED has gone out of their way to make this an awesome experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Chris P.
Guilford, CT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Just Wants More!
Didn't need a big snow blower just wanted the most powerful motor. All I can say is wow! Great all around machine. You get what you pay for.
Chris Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Rich D.
East Islip, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/2/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Keeper!
First time owner of a self propelled snow blower. Delivery and packaging from Snow Blowers Direct was perfect.

I did just like many of you reading this review, researched and read as much as I could to pick the right unit and this Ariens SHO 24" does not disappoint. I love the design (auto turn & heated hand grips) and overall build quality.

Started right up first time out of the box. I've used it already in a 21 inch snowfall and this Ariens delivered. The most difficult area... more
Pros: Features, Durable, Quiet, High Quality
Cons: Could Use A Third Quicker Reverse Speed
Rich Recommends This Ariens Product
Rich's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"From initial sale to delivery I was extremely pleased and would highly recommend using SBD to anyone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Lynn R.
New Ulm, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/5/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Plus Service
Ordered snow blower on Monday and received it on Wednesday of same week. Very well crated and very little assembly needed. Would definitely buy from Snow Blowers Direct again.
Lynn Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Kent K.
Jefferson, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/30/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Still Waiting For A Big Test, So Far So Good.
I purchased this unit in fall of 2014, I chose this unit based on it's features and relatively smaller size, which makes it easier to store.

I actually wrote a blog about my initial experience with it which can be found here: http://www.design-concepts.com/insights/details-details-details

While I am still waiting for a really deep or heavy snow to test it's power, so far I am pleased. I did have an issue with the gas cap leaking gas, I contacted Ariens and they immediately shipped me a... more
Kent Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
31
George L.
Charlevoix, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/18/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems To Be Good Machine So Far.
Wanted a small machine to save space in the garage and this one appears to do everything the larger units handle.
LOVE THE HEATED GRIPS!

Assembly instructions are poorly written though.
George Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Alan R.
Westwood, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/26/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens 921038 Assembly
Snow machine looked awesome. However had to call a repair man to assemble snow chute. Directions absolutely sucked for a layman. Additional fee of 120 for assembly. Not worth buying on line. Saved nothing.
Alan Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
1110
Peter B.
Cheektowaga, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Powerful machine. It's very easy to use, came with fast shipping, and was easy to assemble. It's worth the extra money.

Snow Blowers Direct made the process easy and provided great customer service.

The only problem I had is that the oil drain pipe on the engine is not long enough.
Peter Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Boris A.
Roslyn, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Used the machine several times this winter and has been great!! Makes life a lot easier and easy to start up and use- excellent job maneuvering and cleaning.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Boris Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas S.
East Setuaket, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/5/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Three Times Working Outside, Four Pulls Total
Arrived when promised and freight company helped me haul it up my long driveway within the crate. 45 min assembly (a little tedious with the cable drawings/directions). Cranked on second pull. Easily steers, chute woks well. Just today cut a 100' path in month old 20" stuff to get to out building. Quick work. Satisfied so far.
Thomas Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Joseph R.
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
Moves snow excellently. A bit tricky to assemble as it arrives partially "pre-assembled".
Joseph Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Thomas S.
Norwood, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/4/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product. Great Service.
Needed a snow blower upgrade mid-season. Local shops quoted 3-4 MONTHS wait.

Snow Blowers Direct quotes within a week, in the middle of winter, and delivered me the machine I wanted.

Much thanks for coming through.
Thomas Recommends This Ariens Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
We're glad we could help out. We do try to keep as many in stock at our warehouse as we can for this very reason.

Thanks for sharing this review, and best wishes for a happy 2015.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph D.
Dedham, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy
So easy my 16-year-old has taken it away from me. I knew this would help me with the driveway, but I did not realize how much.
Joseph Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Michael C.
Dalton, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/18/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Up And Running....waiting For Snow.
Shipping container was open and container top was very dirty when it arrived so I was a little leery. Inspection showed no damage so unit was accepted. Some assembly required and instructions weren't clear but muddled through.

Fired it up yesterday and started first pull. All OK.....just missing a handle assembly bolt nut which must have vibrated loose during shipping..........looks like a beast compared to my 1983 ST824... Thanks.
Michael Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Armando A.
Wilmington, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/15/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Snow Yet
I have been told that I have just purchased the "best" snow blower. "When" we get snow, I will definitely let you know our results!
Armando Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
01
David D.
Eden Prairie, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens Upgrade
Bought the new model to take advantage of the new steering technology. Look forward to the first Minnesota snow to try it out
David Recommends This Ariens Product
David's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great delivery, shipper rolled the crate up to the garage. Instructions for the final assembly from Ariens were a little hard to read..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
45
David B.
Allentown, PA
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ok Blower
This blower bogged down in the wet snow during the snowstorm before Thanksgiving.

I had to use the "dig" out tool many times to clear the snow impacted auger, impeller housing, and chute which would get stuck when the aforementioned areas became clogged with snow.

Don't believe the hype, the SHO is overrated!
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
1015
J W
Onalaska, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/15/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Terrible Delivery Service
Overall, this has been a bad experience and I won't do it again. I literally had to get up 5-6 ft into the bed of the delivery truck and have to help lift it down, which required putting it into my pickup truck and then backing into my driveway because the delivery truck didn't have a lift gait.

I was told later on when I called snow blowers direct that I needed to order a lift gait, which wasn't obvious during the ordering process.

If I didn't have a pickup truck or only had a... more
J Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
J,
We are sorry you feel that way, but lift gate service is listed on the site and as an option while ordering. if you were not sure we are available to answer any questions you may have over the phone. We do hope you enjoy your snow blower and apologize for the experience.
more
Was this review helpful?
620
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 921038 gas two stage snow blower reviews.Compare our Ariens 921038 ratings. Find the Ariens 921038 gas two stage snow blower that is right for you.