Your Cart @ Snow Blowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna ST230P Gas Two Stage Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,249.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 961 93 01-01 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
4/5
Value
3/5
Overall
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Pros
Fast (2)
Durable (2)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Light Weight (1)
Cons
Needs An Electricial Cor... (1)
Unreliable (1)
Reverse Gear Is Too Slow (1)
60% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
15 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Andrew H.
Littleton, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/1/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snowblower Defeats First Major Snowstorm In Denver, 2016
After patching up my 12 year old 24" snowblower for the last time in 2015, I came to the realization that I was working harder than it was to move snow off my driveway and sidewalks. After doing extensive on-line and in-person research, I settled on the 30" ST230P as a beefy replacement. With 16" of heavy snow and blowing winds, I finally got to put the beast to work.

After finishing 5 three-car driveways and several hundred feet of sidewalks, it became apparent to me that... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Reverse Gear Is Too Slow
Andrew Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Josh R.
Chester Springs, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/25/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Neat!
Burned up the impeller belt the first day. Not only are the belts on this machine difficult to get part numbers for and locate, but actually replacing them is a real bear. There are belt guides that must be loosened, and those belt guides are bolted through behind the impeller wheel. So, if one happens to loosen up, it will damage the impeller. Gotta be a Chinese machine designed more for cheap manufacturing than practical use and maintenance.. Engine runs great.
Josh Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Josh,
Josh,

I am sorry to hear that the belt burned up upon first use. This was an issue Husqvarna had in the past but we were told had since rectified. I am forwarding this to my rep to look into in the case that this is a reoccurring issue. Aside from this issue I am happy to hear that you are pleased with the snow blowers performance.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I once again apologize for the issue you experienced.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Zach G.
Menasha, WI
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Belt Problems
Belt flew off after 2nd use bringing to the dealer now.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable
Zach Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Tom N.
Amissville, VA
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Big Snow Jan '16
Purchased the snow blower last fall, new. The big snow came, and I decided to do the first clearing Saturday morning with about 16" on the ground. my driveway is about 400' long.

At approximately 3/4 complete in first gear it threw the impeller belt, when I took the belt cover off the front of the engine it was trash. When the snow finished Saturday night, I hired a snow plow to do the job the next day.

I have a number of Husqvarna products and have always had good luck with them... more
Tom Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Rod
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/6/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I Can't Believe This One!
Purchased snowblower last year as I am over 65 and time to give up the snow shovel. Used machine two times last year. Just used it for the second time today in 2016. The impeller drive belt broke off at a 90 degree angle. There was no noticeable wear on the belt sides or back (goes through an idler).

I may have a total of 5 hours of use on the machine at the most. I have other belt-driven equipment that are years old that never have experienced a belt failure. From comments I read... more
Rod Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kelly G.
Frederick, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/29/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just In Time For The Next Snow....
We were so excited to receive our new snow blower for the property, and the Maintenance Supervisor had it put together and ready to run in short order. He started it up for a test and within just a few short moments it started smoking.

Everything seemed to be running properly so it was a little perplexing at first, but with further inspection the Maintenance Supervisor found a flaw in the design at the belt.

The piece designed to turn the belt was actually rubbing it, which caused the... more
Kelly Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bobby Q.
Bowie, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/31/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Okay
It's okay, better than the Cub Cadet. I guess it will do the job. When backing up, it goes real slow. not like old one i have it goes faster then this one I have two now..Thanks
Bobby Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David W.
Frederick, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/1/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Nice, But Can't Handle The Big Snow
Within an hour of my first use, I burned out the auger belt. We had an epic snow, and this being my first snow blower, I don't know if this is a fair review, but I felt really left down.

Worse - there is NO help with the Husqvarna users manual, website, or any other source to determine the part number to replace the belt. I pulled the one hour old belt off, measured it and found a belt that seems to fit at Lowes.

Then the next hour I sheared off the shear pins. So now I have a 12 spare... more
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael A.
Ashland, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/22/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
Bought this to keep my 200 foot driveway cleared. It was easy to do the final assembly, easy to handle. I haven't been able to get to use it on the driveway yet, but as soon as the weather clears and the driveway melts i will give it a try.
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt Fernandes
Bellingham, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/9/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Junk - Belt Fell Off After A Few Hours Of Use
Similar to the countless other reviews out there, the belt flew off and got jammed up. Impossible to find replacement parts.
Matt Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Matt,
We're sorry to hear you've had issues with this model. Husqvarna has a generally good reputation for quality machines.

If you are having trouble finding a belt in your area, I'd suggest checking with the manufacturer to find out if you can order one from them. For models still being made, I imagine they'd have some available.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael F.
Lowville, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/8/14
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mike - Lowville, Ny
I recently purchased this product/model and it works awesome!! The delivery process was excellent. The blower has been used a few times and throws snow easily. Everything is quality on this machine, I would recommend it to anyone.
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
193
Patrick
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well Check Engine Warranty
5 times no problem 6in to 12 in of snow. Checking the engine warranty shows emission control warranty only not internal parts. Did not have a problem, but what if a bolt inside was not secured properly?

Will Husqvarna help if something does go wrong?
Patrick Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
186
Donald F.
Hampstead, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Snow Blower Great Buy
I bought this new one because I have a big driveway. My old one is getting tired. This is much bigger and much faster. Thank you.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Needs An Electricial Cord To Start Did Not Have One With It
Donald Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Donald's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I got more than I expected. Very happy, also bought a zero turn mower last year, never had one. Would also buy another one if this goes bad, thank you very much."
 more
Was this review helpful?
188
Robert T.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/2/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine Just Not Sure About Sbd Delivery Policies…
Snow Thrower arrived yesterday. Minimal assembly, gassed it up, plugged it in and it started the VERY first attempt!!! As expected. Now all I need is the snow which by the looks of the current weather here in Steamboat Colorado won’t be long!!

My only issue is the $100 fee for lift gate service ($50) and "remote area fee" ($50) I was charged seems to be a way for SBD to add $$ onto the order.

According to the driver, all trucks they deliver with has a lift gate and it's part... more
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
We use different carriers for delivery, and we charge lift gate fees to reserve delivery with a carrier that offers those conveniences. Not all carriers have lift gates on their trucks, and not all will deliver to remote areas. Sorry for any misunderstanding.
more
Was this review helpful?
1715
Loren M.
River Falls, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/6/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Experience
Even though the snow blower was supposed to be on back order it came early by a week.. trucking service was good and the snow blower has only been used one time but seems to work fine.
Loren Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Loren's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good experience"
 more
Was this review helpful?
2624
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 961 93 01-01 gas two stage snow blower reviews.Compare our Husqvarna ST230P ratings. Find the Husqvarna 961 93 01-01 gas two stage snow blower that is right for you.