Search
< Back to Product

Simplicity 922EXD Gas Single Stage Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Simplicity 1696516 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (7)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
High Quality (3)
Fast (3)
Quiet (3)
Cons
Expensive (2)
Oil Leaked Out In Shippi... (1)
None Worth Mentioning (1)
Packaging (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Snow Blower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
42 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
6178 Helpful Votes
Snow Blowers Direct Recommended

The Simplicity 922EXD (22") 205cc Deluxe has some incredibly noteworthy attributes making it a guaranteed snowy show stopper.

Simplicity 922EXD (22") Deluxe is equipped with a 205cc Briggs & Stratton 900 Snow Series OHV Engine. The electric start is a nice feature, but you do not have to fret. The engine has the ability to start in -20 below temps.

So what sets the Simplicity 922EXD apart from its snowy blowy cousins? The exciting NEW SnowShredder™ Serrated Auger W/... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
31456
James S.
Farmington Hills, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/25/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gorgeous Machine
My neighbors have had this exact same model for several years, and are extremely happy with it. The husband said he did a lot of research, and this was the model he came up with.

With all the snow we've had the past two winters, I was sick of shoveling, so I got the model number from them, and began looking around. Snow Blowers Direct had a great price, free (and FAST) shipping, and have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

It's a gorgeous machine, and I'm glad I finally... more
James Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Robin W.
Newark, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/28/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nothing To It
Ecstatic. Product arrive by stated delivery date. Assembly was a snap - two parts. Snow chute and snow chute control handle. Highly recommend it. Can't wait for it to snow.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Easy To Store
Robin Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Carlton King
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pretty Good
My first snow blower so nothing to compare it to but this is way better than shoveling. Started on first pull and went through my driveway in 15 minutes. Snow was wet and engine labored a bit but got through it fine. Good to have this now.
Carlton Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
50
David W.
Centennial, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/10/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Performance
Got to use today on about 12". Worked very good. However concerned about key and the lack of a solid fit, afraid of losing when in use. In delivery, the key was loose in the box. Also, received a clear plastic clamp but no instructions as to it's use!
David Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
30
John M.
Neptune City,, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/1/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
"storm Of The Century"
I did my research, picked my machine, and was sure life would be easier. On 1/23/16 another "Storm of the Century" hit the Jersey Shore, about 20" of snow which is unusual in these parts slammed in.

My new Simplicity 922EXD was over matched for this much snow, I'm sure a normal snowstorm will allow me to enjoy the features of this new tool,I'm in no way disappointed the machine worked as well as one could expect given the extreme amount of snow.

My first snowblower, very... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet
John Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Patrick
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/24/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Goodbye Snow
I purchased the Simplicity 922EXD snow blower in the fall of 2015. Winter storm Jonas left about 6 inches of snow that the simplicity easily cleared off my driveway and sidewalk. The only time it stuttered was getting some of the road plowed snow that was sitting higher than the blower but two passes in and that was also out of the way. Well worth the money.
Patrick Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Michael
Sterling Forest, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/14/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Decent Machine
I recently purchased this snowblower to use on my deck and as a backup to my large 2-stage. While setting it up, I installed the chute only to find it wouldn't rotate correctly. I removed the service cover and was surprised to find that the large plastic chute rotation gear had a quarter of its teeth sheared off. I'm not sure why, since the shipping box and snowblower arrived in otherwise perfect condition.

I spoke with customer service at SBD and they did the right thing and... more
Michael Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Drew
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Drew M.
Purchased this blower in September of 2014. Used it one season (roughly 5 times), drained the gas as detailed in the manual, and stored it in my garage. It would not start this year so I took it in to my local authorized dealer. Apparently, even after draining the gas as per the manual, gas residue gummed up and the carburetor needs to be rebuilt. The manual does not tell you to drop the pan to get any additional gas out but that needs to be done on this unit per the dealer. They also... more
Drew Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Andrew B.
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/16/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Runs Well
Only got to use it for one smallish storm, but it ran well, started quickly, and chewed through the snow!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Packaging, Expensive
Andrew Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Art P.
Delta, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/1/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simplicity 922exd (22")
After a payment issue, I made contact with a GREAT LADY in customer service who went above and beyond to help with the payment issue. I won't mention her name for privacy reasons, but I would like to thank her again.

Now about the snowblower, this unit is lightweight but powerful. The unit is priced right and blows 8 inches of snow 35 feet, no problem. I really like the chute controller and the unit started right up with one pull.

I'm very happy with this purchase and the shipping was... more
Art Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Cheryl B.
Windsor Mill, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Blower
I haven't had the chance to use it. But so far I am satisfied with the service that I got when the snowshoe didn't fit.
Cheryl Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John L.
Syosset, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/5/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Used the simplicity for the first time to clear snow during and after the January 23 Blizzard on Long Island and it worked great. It does have limitations as to the depth of the snow but that is easy to understand and when I bought it I did not expect to clear snow of more than 2 feet in depth. I would buy it again without any hesitation..
John Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff T.
Waukesha, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Don't Hate The Snowplow Driver Anymore.
Got it fast and it set up easily. Really chews thruogh the stuff the snowplow pushes into my driveway. I love the chute directional control!
Jeff Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Alan B.
Southboro, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Snow Blower But Poor Customer Service
Feb 2015: Purchased Simplicity 22 in. Single stage snow blower 922EXD utilizing steel augers with ruggedized rubber paddles. Worked very well on 16 in powdery snow and 14 in hardened snow at driveway end. Versatile, powerful, well-built and easy start...engine noise quite reasonable. On hardened snow need to back/forth a little bit or reduce width ingesting into blower, otherwise a very slight tendency to tax engine a bit. Unit has occasional tendency to veer to right..but this and use in... more
Alan Recommends This Simplicity Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Alan,
We are sorry to hear you have an issue with your Simplicity snow blower. It appears our product expert is ready to order the part, but is in need of a serial number from you for the snow blower you have. You can call 800-710-7499 X133 to provide us that serial number so we can get your part ordered in a timely manner.
more
Was this review helpful?
130
Vincent T.
Waltham, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/7/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
We Bought this because my wife wanted a snow blower that was not as intimidating as my large Ariens. We really were not sure how well the Simplicity would handle the heavy Massachusetts winters we can sometimes get.

Well, 2014-2015 winter was horrible... well over 100 inches. This machine was so impressive and handled everything from a few inches to we'll over a foot. it is not rated for extremely high or heavy snow, but as long as you know how to feather it into the high banks, and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: None Worth Mentioning
Vincent Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
120
George S.
St Louis, MO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/7/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Let It Snow Continued (finally)
This snow blower sat in my garage unused all winter until we finally got our first significant snowfall on February 15th.

We received about 5-7 inches of fairly powdery snow overnight and on the morning following the snowstorm it started right up on the first try.

I've never owned a snow blower before and I found this very easy to use and handle. It took me about 35 minutes to do my very large driveway and about 20 minutes to do the neighbor's. I played around with different settings... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
George Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Phillip J.
Knoxville, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/6/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simplicity 922exd (22")
Used it for the first time on a 5.5" snow fall. Snow was light and fluffy on the main portion of my driveway and the blower took care of it easily. I took it down to the end of the driveway where the city snow plow had plowed me in with a pile 8 to 10 " deep of compacted snow. Snow blower cut through it with no problems at all. I will say that more work needs to be done on balancing the metal teeth/paddles on this model. There is far more vibration and shake than on other models of... more
Phillip Recommends This Simplicity Product
Phillip's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Snow Blowers Direct did a great job on handling my order and provided super fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
121
Erwin W.
Joliet, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/31/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wet Snow Feb. 1 And 2 ,2015 Joliet Il.
Bought snow blower in October 2014 this MACHINE went through 8" of Powder snow in December to 15"of wet snow on FEB.1 , Feb 2 wet and powder snow WE did 4 drive ways total 15".5".BOTH my boys use it and they said IT was EXCELLENT unit . I have a 20 +old PADDLE two stage unit NO good with wet SNOW .I would rate this unit 1 to 10 . I would give it a 10
Erwin Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
122
James Meyer
Saint Marys, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/6/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Kick Some Snow!
Got a chance to try this bad boy out for the first time this week. Over all the performance and function were excellent.

The machine is extremely lightweight and powerful. Controls are easy to use even with gloves. Starting is simple and quick. Easily cleared 4 inches of snow.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Expensive
James Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
133
David C.
Highlands Ranch, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Used 3 times and really like this snow blower. It was the perfect mix of features vs. price for my needs.

The best part was with the he electric start my wife can now handle the snow blowing duties when I am out of town.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Features
David Recommends This Simplicity Product
David's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This unit arrived in two days, two days ahead of when promised by."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Alan B.
Southborough, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Customer Service Corrected Problem Efficiently.
This is a follow-up on my 10 Feb review of the Simplicity 922 EXD single stage snow blower and Customer Service response.

After posting my review and suggestion of slow Customer Service response I was immediately contacted by Joe of PED. I provided part numbers as requested and PED had the manufacturer send me replacement parts ( I was missing one bolt...they sent two new complete bolt/handle-nut pairs) ASAP and free of charge.

Since last posting I have used the 922EXD in 14 in and 6... more
Alan Recommends This Simplicity Product
Alan's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"PED customer service responded efficiently to correct my initial concerns...see my postings."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Valerie F.
Reno, NV
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/3/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Power House
What a great machine. Arrived with all of the parts just in time for our first significant snow storm Easily assembled. Put in a few bolts, added the oil and chute and voila. It fired right up and ate right through 6-8 inches of wet snow. Threw the snow far enough to clear my 3 car driveway no problem. Very happy with my choice.
Valerie Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Jan R.
Kalamazoo, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Still Waiting To Try It Out!!
I received the snowblower on Feb. 4...put it together on Feb. 6 and tried it out...auger worked briefly and then stopped..I took it to dealer (Kalamazoo Lawn and Garden) on Feb. 7 and still haven't gotten it back...today is Feb. 24. Dealer ordered belt and had to wait for it..when they finally got it and installed it it blew another belt...dealer advised pulley problem...now they are waiting for pulley parts. I'm glad I kept my 25 year old Toro snow blower and I'm going to keep it as a back... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Jan,
We are sorry to hear about the issues you have had and are having with your snow blower. If there is anything we can do to be of any assistance, please feel free to give us a call. In situations like these, the product would have to follow the warranty process, but at the same time if for any reason you don't feel as though you are getting the service you deserve, please let us know and we would be happy to assist in any way we can.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jan,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us and will help us to continue to improve our products to be the best out there for our customers. Keep in mind that an authorized service dealer is the best place to take the unit to maintain and repair your unit.
more
Was this review helpful?
92
George S
St Louis, MO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/7/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Let It Snow
I purchased this snow blower after doing quite a bit of research. Because I have a very large driveway, but only get a moderate amount of snow, I was torn between a single stage and two stage blower. This seems to bridge the gap nicely. This snow blower arrived one day after I ordered it.

My only complaint was that it was shipped with oil in it. The oil leaked out and had soaked through the box, staining my clothes when I picked the box up off my porch. I am not very handy and it took me... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Oil Leaked Out In Shipping
George Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
158
Paul P.
Toms River, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine.
Used it 3 times with 8 inches of snow, and the machine did the job with no problem.
Paul Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Wiping Y.
Brooklyn, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/17/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Best
Very good.
Wiping Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
95
David M.
Osceola, MO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!!!!
Waiting on first snow.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Price, High Quality
David Recommends This Simplicity Product
David's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great machine! Started first pull. Delivered in three days. Quiet. Haven't had a chance to use it on snow yet?"
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Karen B.
Southgate, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/22/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Pretty Machine
I just put it together yesterday. I'm waiting for the first snow. I can already tell it can handle anything mother nature can dish out. This is a bigger machine than I had before. This machine had the best review.
Karen Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
2120
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Simplicity 1696516 gas single stage snow blower reviews.Compare our Simplicity 922EXD ratings. Find the Simplicity 1696516 gas single stage snow blower that is right for you.