Your Cart @ Snow Blowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Simplicity 1222EE Gas Single Stage Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
Simplicity 1696517 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (9)
Light Weight (6)
Features (5)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Quiet (3)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Expensive (3)
Durability (2)
Faulty Ignition Switch (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
52 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Snow Blower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
42 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
5860 Helpful Votes
Snow Blowers Direct Recommended

Looking to absolve the compacted snow and ice from your property? Wanting a machine that is easy to handle with a professional grade performance at a homeowner price? Look no further than the Simplicity 1222EE (22") Deluxe Single Stage Snow Blower.

The SnowShredder 14-gauge Serrated Auger with Rubber Edged Paddles can chop, grind and clear away the snow and ice consuming your driveway with ease and especially is great for the end of the driveway mess left behind by municipal plows.
more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
25040
Charles S.
Downingtown, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blizzard Of 2016?? No Problem!
I finally got to use this blower for the first time after buying it back in October. It held its own in 20+ inches of snow and kept pace with a lot of 2 stages in my neighborhood. Great, consistent power and great maneuverability. I was able to do the driveway (2 car), walkway, sidewalk and apron with no issues.

This storm was an extreme case for the first use but this thing performed flawlessly. I have already nicknamed it "The Beast". I had some reservations about the electric... more
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Fast
Charles Recommends This Simplicity Product
Charles's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"SBD had this order to my door in 2 days via FedEx. No hassles."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Eric
Green Lane, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/4/14
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Runs Rough. Needs Chocke To Operate. Would Not Start When Matte
I got mine just over a year ago. last season I had to run it at half choke. If i closed the choke fully it would be low in power and would sound bursty. it ran smoother with half choke, but not perfect. I always treat my fuel too.

this season it would not start at all. we got 30" of snow. and i was screwed. Luckily my neighbors helped me out... it was very disappointing. After the snow was gone i tried it one last time and it tried for a split second for the first time all weekend. ... more
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Expensive
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Eric,
We're very sorry to hear of your issues. Your snow blower should still be under warranty, so we suggest you try calling the Simplicity customer service line at 1-800-837-6836. They should be able to help you get your snow blower up and running the way it should run.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert W.
Osceola, IN
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Runs Rough
Runs rough have to run on 1/2 choke.4 weeks old
unit'used one time.Simplicity will not fix.3 yr warranty? Would not buy it again or any Simplicity due to poor warranty.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
We’re sorry to hear about the difficulties you are having with your unit. So that we can thoroughly review and respond, please submit the details of the issue you have been experiencing at the following link: http://bit.ly/1m0aDxm
more
Was this review helpful?
242
Gary D.
East Lansing, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/22/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Stopped Working
This unit stopped working within 15 minutes of first use. Warranty worthless. Out 700 bucks.
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
I am sorry to hear that this unit stopped working after just a few minutes of use. Was the oil filled to the proper levels and was fresh gasoline added prior to operation? You mentioned the warranty on this unit which would cover any manufacturer defects on the unit. Have you tried taking the unit to a service center or have you contacted Simplicity directly?
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Ronald L.
Lancaster, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/18/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great In Wet Heavy Snow
The first snow came 2 days after my snow machine arrived. It was 12 inches of very wet snow. My machine handled it with no problem. It blew it at least 35 feet. A TRULY GREAT BUY !!!
Ronald Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Bill M.
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/10/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Review On Product & Shipping-second Will Be When It Snows
Bought this online, was shipped damaged, they replaced it with a new one. Very surprised at the strength of the box, very thin and flimsy. Product can easily shift.

Second blower, started it up and there was a loud banging, like a hammer hitting the inside of the blower, so I turned it off, and saw pieces of metals bits and a round o ring, and oil started to leak from the bottom. Since it had gas in it, I could not return it, but bring it to an authorized dealer. It was fixed in 3 weeks... more
Was this review helpful?
52
Rosa H.
White Plains, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Did Not Work On First Use
Purchased on 12/29/15 in preparation for winter. My husband went out to use the snowblower for the first time in DC Blizzard 2016 and the snowblower started and shut off. My husband tried to start if again and IT WILL NOT START. This was a lot of money for NOTHING. I even purchased an extended warranty.
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Rosa,
Rosa,

I am sorry to hear that the unit will not start. Below are some common problems we have heard as causes of this issue. If these suggestions do not work however, I would recommend consulting your local Simplicity retailer or Simplicity tech support (800-837-6836).

Fuel Problems

Is the fuel fresh?
If the fuel is over 30 days old, replace with fresh, treated fuel.

Is the fuel tank empty?
Fill the fuel tank; if the engine is still hot, wait until it has cooled before filling the tank.

Is the shut-off valve closed?
Open the fuel shut-off valve

Is the fuel diluted with water?
Empty the tank, replace the fuel, and check for leaks in the fuel tank cap.

Is the fuel tank cap clogged or un-vented?
Make sure the cap is vented and that air holes are not clogged.

Ignition Problems

Is the spark plug fouled?
Remove the spark plug; clean the contact or replace the plug.

Is the spark plug lead faulty?
Test the lead with a spark tester, then test the engine.

Is the kill switch shorted?
Repair or replace the kill switch.

If the unit does need repair work and falls under their warranty coverage, you will not need to pay for the repair work.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I hope these tips are able to assist.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Rosa,
We’re sorry that you have experienced issues with your snow blower. There is a 3 year warranty time frame covering manufacturing defects and workmanship. Please take the unit into an authorized service center to see if there was a manufacturing defect. Follow this link: http://bit.ly/1nK43wl for a service dealer locator.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Don D.
Aurora, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/21/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Took A Chance
Being used to 2-stroke single stages and realizing I couldn't find them anymore I took a chance on this Simplicity. I have several properties so I haul the machine in the back of my truck.

I previously used and still own a Toro Power Clear 2-stroke that served me well for about 4 years.

I have to say I am quite impressed with the Simplicity machine. I have used it a number of times and it really throws the snow. Nearly as well as my large Husqvarna 2 stage does. It always starts on... more
Don Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Dona L.
Golden, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/2/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
81 Year Old Woman Loves Her Simplicity Snowblower
To stay strong at my age requires work! I had total shoulder replacements done Dec '14 and July '15 so had to have an electric start blower this year. I had never heard of the Simplicity brand until I did an internet search and this blower seemed to have everything I needed so I ordered it. (I knew I wanted to stay with a stage 1 blower). Yesterday I used it for the first time with 6 inches of snow and today 12 inches of really wet snow. I have a very long corner sidewalk and a 3 car... more
Dona Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Herbert F.
Westland, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/13/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Medium Size Snow Blower
Starts really easily, and it eats the snow and ice. Digs into grass big time.
Herbert Recommends This Simplicity Product
Herbert's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great. The person I spoke to answered every question. About who makes the Simplicity and how the warranty works."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Milan T.
Aurora, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/19/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Blower!!!
This snow blower has been awesome so far! The 250cc engine had no issues going through thick 10in of snow here in Denver!! It starts on 1st pull every time! The electric start works great too! The auger breaks up ice with ease and launches it into the street! The only nit pick I have is that the handle isn't the most comfortable to hold and push. So overall for the money, this thing is worth every penny!
Milan Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
10
David G.
West Jordan, UT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/17/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast And Easy Work Of Heavy Snow
I've had this blower for about three significant storms. It works as advertised. It made quick work of even 8" of heavy wet snow and cleaned down to the driveway. My neighbors all have two stage machine bought at the local bigbox store. They watch jealously as I clear my driveway three times faster than them and leave the surface completely snow free. Electric start is perfect.

I worried about the electric chute control. But I have never had any trouble with it and have cleared an... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
David Recommends This Simplicity Product
David's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have purchased two products from this company. The first was a honda lawnmower which arrived quickly and was very slightly damaged in shipping. I sent pictures and a description in an email. Their customer service department responded immediately and sent a replacement part. I will purchase all my power equipment from them in the future. The snowblower I purchased arrived well packaged and quickly. I believe it was drop-shipped, but the process was nonetheless fast and trouble-free."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jim J.
Brooklyn Park, MN
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Machine
Finally got to use the Simplicity 1222EE, 4"+ semi-wet snow. I Replaced an older 90's Toro 2 stage 22 inch unit, I was concerned about the down sizing from 2 stage to single but the salesmen explained that this would do a better job and quicker than the 2-stage 24 inch Cub Cadet I was planning to buy for a few dollars cheaper, and would last much longer, My drive way is only 50 feet so I didn't really need a huge snow blower taking up all the extra room either.

The performance was... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Jim Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Todd R.
Oakdale, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/23/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Workhorse
Looking for a small driveway snowblower, shopped the big box stores. Read the online info, compared the brands. Came across the Simplicity 1222EE.
Decided to purchase it, to replace my old 2 stage.
Really glad I did. The 250cc engine is very strong for
this light weight, easy to maneuver single stage.
The button chute control is so nice, my wife feels more
comfortable when she's running it.
Good product for our needs.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None At This Time
Todd Recommends This Simplicity Product
Todd's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery, easy to put together. Great all round experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
David G.
Richmond, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Bought My Snowblower So It Wouldn't Snow
I live in Kentucky where we usually don't get much snow. But lived 57 years in Michigan, so I do know a lot about the subject. After last winter here in Kentucky we fell lucky to get a Michigan winter.

You can't hardly find a good snow shovel in this state.let alone a snowblower. So I ordered one from snowblower direct in hoping that we don't get any snow to use it on.my neighbors said if that works buy a new one every year.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
David Recommends This Simplicity Product
David's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Starts and runs great, and its doing just what I bought it for. It gonna be in the upper 60s Christmas day and 70 by Monday."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
William W.
Bowie, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/24/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
So Far No Good
Purchased the Simplicity Snow Blower in January 2016. Didn't get a chance to use it in snow until mid-February. After oil and fuel, the snow blower started on the first push. It took a few seconds to find the best run position of the choke. Used it for about 25-30 minutes clearing the driveway and walkways...flawless. Stopped the snow blower for a few minutes to talk my neighbors. Tried to restart it, and it would not start. Checked oil and fuel...everything good. Decided to wait a day... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
William,
I apologize for all the frustration and hassle this has caused. I appreciate you taking the time to contact us and apologize for not being able to offer further assistance. Unfortunately for these units we are only provided with the basic troubleshooting tips that were sent to you initially. From that point the unit would be covered under warranty for repair work. I apologize for the time this took to repair but appreciate you taking the time to contact us with a review.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you've experienced these issues with your new snow blower and understand how frustrating that can be. It looks like you've already taken the steps for warranty work, but if you should need any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us (1-800-837-6836).
more
Was this review helpful?
00
George C.
Richboro, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/22/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Snow
Purchase a new snowblower and it won't snow.
George Recommends This Simplicity Product
George's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"REMOVED PACKED SNOW FROM STREET PLOW AT THE END OF DRIVEWAY. DID A GOOD JOB"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick D.
Kalamazoo, MI
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snapper
Purchased from Amazon about 2014 under the snapper name, The first single stage snow blower ever purchased, after years of ownership of the big two stage beast, one thing I have learned is to make sure you run out the gasoline when the season is over, they are not so forgiving.

Love this blower this last snow storm the snow was wet and heavy my neighbors was using a shovel at the end of the driveway, their single stage could not handle it , they looked on while mines blow right through it 5... more
Rick Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gregg H.
Hollywood, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/1/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Belt Came Off On First Day!
This snow blower works great when the belt stays on. I used it on my driveway with no problem and decided to help out my neighbors. After about two hours it threw the belt.

I put it back on and it continued to fall off which eventually ruined the belt. I contacted customer service and they told me I need to take it to the dealer. Unfortunately they are 60 miles away!

I have ordered a new belt and will try this machine again. It is sad that I spent this much money and it fails on the first... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Features
Cons: Unreliable, Expensive, Durability
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Gregg,
I do apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused for you. In regards to the replacement belts, unfortunately we do not stock parts which is the reason for reference to a Simplicity service center.

With these units, there are minor adjustments that can be made to ensure the belt does not continue to fall off during use. I would recommend contacting Simplicity's technical service line (800-837-6836) for assistance in installing the new belt.

Once again I do apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your time in writing this review.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Glen L.
Warrenton, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/28/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Solution!
Got her a few weeks ago and used her for the first time on Feb 15. Had about 5 inches and she went through the white stuff like budda!

Totally impressed with the ease of starting (one pull), distance the snow was thrown, and pure fun! I even plowed 5 other neighbors' driveways and our sub-division's sidewalks! My wife was wondering where I was at!

She stores nicely in the garage and takes up very little space.

Highly recommend for fun and less back breaking shoveling!
Glen Recommends This Simplicity Product
Glen's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick delivery! Wonderful product! My first snow blower...at 53, I felt it was time. Thanks!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Christopher B.
Richmond, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/18/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Beast!!
I had been pondering purchasing a snowblower for some time. I had done a lot of research and decided that a single-stage was the way to go for ease of loading/unloading as the weight is much less than a two-stage.

I came across this unit over a year ago, but did not pull the trigger on the purchase until this winter. I wanted this unit because it was everything I wanted from a single-stage plus the hybrid performance features of a two-stage.

I had been watching the weather and there... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Christopher Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John H.
Pasadena, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/23/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wasn't Sure If I Needed A Larger Blower But This Stronger Than
Better than I expected. Box was a little ripped up.
Unit was fine check out instructions, added oil. Tighten handle and cranked up by hand on second try.
Let it run for 5 mins trend some very light stuff and then hit harder wet 12 inch deep stuff left over from the 30"" we got in one day. Worked really well.

Today we had 4"" of very light fully stuff. Pulled twice cranked right up cleared it up right down to the pavement. Be careful with any cars it throws any rock or... more
John Recommends This Simplicity Product
John's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered blower and two days later it was here."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Very Sad....
Bought November 2014 and never used until January of this year, took to local dealer for service $85 later was told bad gas and not under warranty. I drained it and put stabilizer in it at the end of the season. What ever... 30 days later another snow, guess what?

My 1222EE $700 blower will not start. I should of never wasted my money on the Simplicity model and should of bought the Toro. Anyone wanting to buy a used snowblower model 1222EE with less than ten minutes on it. Contact me. I... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Craig,
We’re sorry that you have experienced issues with your snow blower. The repair issue that you are describing sounds like it may have been due to stale fuel. This occurs due to the fact that fuel contains ethanol and in as little as 3 weeks the ethanol starts to separate from the gas causing water to collect and the fuel to become stale. This stale fuel can cause the carburetor to become dirty and can block fuel passages in the fuel system. To avoid this problem you will want to add fuel stabilizer in your fresh seasonal fuel. The fuel stabilizer will not turn stale gas fresh again, but it will prevent any new gas from becoming stale.

You may want to try spraying your carburetor down with some carburetor & choke cleaner. This may help you to get the engine started and running again.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael D.
Chesterland, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/12/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Snow Far, So Good
Due to the unusually mild winter, here in Ohio, I've only been able to use this blower a few times. It has performed well, both in light snow and wet, slushy snow. As I would suspect is true with all single-stage blowers, it throws the snow a little farther with the chute pointed straight ahead vs. off to one side or the other.

It is a powerful blower, no doubt due to the large engine, and I did notice a lot of vibration, as others have mentioned. The headlights are a nice added feature,... more
Michael Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen H.
Flushing, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/1/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simplicity 1222ee-awesome In Bizzard Of 2016!
The shipping experience was bad with Fedex ground shipping. The online status was not up to date. When they said package was out for delivery, It was 2 days late & the weather was good back in Dec. Simplicity could use a little more packing for protection because the delivery man will turn box sideways. The snowblower engine is powerful had not problem blowing 12-15 inch snow in NY blizzard 0f 2016. The Simplicity decal are a little cheap & are starting to unpeeled.

The manual is... more
Stephen Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard S.
Rockville Centre, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/9/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simplicity Makes Clearing Snow Simple
On January 23rd 2016 Long Island got hit with one of the biggest blizzards in history. My town had 25 inches of snow in 24 hours. I had just purchased this Simplicity 1222EE snow blower and this would be its first test. This machine exceeded my expectations. It started on the first pull and with a 250cc engine and the shredder auger it had no problems clearing the snow.

I used it several times during this storm because I didn't want the snow accumulation to exceed the height of the auger... more
Richard Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jay D.
Berwick, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/7/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Snow Blower
I received 1222EE Snow Blower in early December 2015. Easy assembly. Had a little problem with controls for electric chute. Didn't work at all, so I disassembled the top where the switch for the chute was located and found that the switch wasn't plugged in. Connected switch, reassembled, and everything worked fine.

I got to use it for the first time 1-23-16 in about 8 inches of light snow. It worked very well. I was even able to clear the ends of the driveway which had been plowed shut. As... more
Jay Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven P.
Oceanside, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/12/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Just used it for the first time this weekend. We had 30 inches of snow and this machine cut through it like butter. Never once bogged down and that includes the end of the driveway mess.

Full disclosure- after the plows passed for the 3rd time and build a 3 foot wall of solid ice and snow on my side walk-the machine was taxed and I only attempted to go through a few feet of it..My neighbor has a full size commercial Ariens and that couldn't handle it either. Great machine for the... more
Steven Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve L.
Kiel, WI
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great In Wisconsin!
We recently updated from our old reliable Ariens 5hp and we were hoping this would be just as good. So far so good and the wife just loves it! Starts great and does a great job with all types of snow. There is nothing about it that she doesn't like. Great snowblower and we highly recomend it!
Steve Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark Anderson
Bronx, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/2/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Electric Chute
When I received the snow blower, I started it and it ran fine, but the chute didn't work. Being I had gassed it up, I could not send it back. I took it to a dealer for repair, and they said it was a loose wire. I took it home, and it still didn't work. I brought it back, and they fixed it, but the first time I had to use it, the motor for the chute fell right out of the snow blower. Lets see what happens now?
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
Mark,

I am sorry to hear this unit has had such complications. I appreciate you taking the time to write an honest review and if we can be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you and have a great day.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
We’re sorry that you have experienced issues with your snow blower. Your best source of information would be an authorized service center, so they can diagnose and repair your unit. Follow this link: http://bit.ly/1nK43wl for a service center locator.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike S
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/29/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful Little Blower.
This thing ripped through 2 feet of fresh snow like it was nothing. 30-36 inches of the white cr@p was a bit more work. I turned sideways or backwards and applied pressure. Slow going, and harder work, but .. this is a beast.

The snow goes really, really far. And I have a 319 Toro two stage. That means you'll have to adjust a bit more for the neighbors. Then I clean it and bring it right into the hallway. Wicked little machine. I bought mine on ebay from this company.
Mike Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill M.
East Northport, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/10/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Help! Need Simplicity C/s Phone Number
I understand you are the middle person-I'm trying to get some help

So here is my first review from October:

Bought this online, was shipped damaged, they replaced it with a new one. Very surprised at the strength of the box, very thin and flimsy. Product can easily shift.

Second blower, started it up and there was a loud banging, like a hammer hitting the inside of the blower, so I turned it off, and saw pieces of metals bits and a round o ring, and oil started to leak from the... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
Bill,

I apologize for the continual issues you are experiencing with this unit. Simplicity technical support can be reached at 800-837-6836 as they will be able to work with you on this issue. Unfortunately due to the lapsed time frame, we are unable to offer a refund for the unit. I would recommend contacting Simplicity directly.

I appreciate your time in writing to us. Thank you and have a great day!
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bill,
We're very sorry that you have experienced issues with your unit. There is a 3 year warranty time frame covering manufacturing defects and workmanship. Please take the unit into an authorized service center to see if there was a manufacturing defect. Follow this link: http://bit.ly/1nK43wl for a service dealer locator.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeffrey W.
Leesburg, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
#jonabliizzard Tamed!
20+ inches of snow. This snow blower is throwing mounds of snow without a hiccup. Easy to start. Relatively quiet. Gets down to the asphalt. Worth the investment. I hope it is reliable for a long time!
Jeffrey Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Vincent V.
Bushkill, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Piece Of You Know What #$%%#@
Paid good money and went to use it for the first time 5 minutes after a snow storm on 1/23/2016. It stalled out. I went to pull the cord to start and the pull cord would not move - could not start it up.

Called the company, and they told me to bring it in to a service center. He said the repair would be covered by warranty. I would not recommend this to any of my friends.
Cons: Unreliable, Pull Cord Frozen After First Time Use
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Vincent,
Vincent,

I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. I am happy to hear that the repair work would be covered by the service center. Unfortunately once the units have been fueled, we are very limited in the assistance we can offer.

I appreciate you taking the time to write an honest review.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Vincent,
We’re sorry that you have experienced issues with your snow blower. There is a 3 year warranty time frame covering manufacturing defects and workmanship. Please take the unit into an authorized service center to see if there was a manufacturing defect. Follow this link: http://bit.ly/1nK43wl for a service dealer locator.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert S.
Elmhurst, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/27/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Chop N Shoot, No Clog^o^
12/28/15 was the first wet snow storm in Chicago of the year, I did not doing any plow or blow as I work very late on Monday and Tuesday. Today 12/30th we got morning snow, when I got home I pull my new purchase "SIM" 1222EE to clean my 200ft side walk, for two days old plus the morning snow, it was about 4 inches of ice with some wet on the bottom and light snow on top, I began to push a little bit, it shoot and stuck, so I backup and push again, it work fine in that way, means push... more
Robert Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Charles S.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/26/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Machine
I ordered my Christmas present early this year after doing much research on this particular unit. A friend of mine actually works at Briggs and Stratton in the R@D dept, and said this unit is one of the most powerful he has seen for it's size. I received the snowblower 5 days after ordering it. The box was in rough shape. Found that after removing it from the box, the shiny new orange plastic engine shroud was all scratched up.

Set up time was minimal and easy. Added the provided oil to... more
Charles Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gene
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/22/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Snowblower
Received Snow blower in excellent condition. I had the unit filled with oil and assembled in about 20 minutes. The unit fired right up and sounds like it has a ton on power. I noticed the Headlights dim when the electric chute was used. I pulled out the 1156 bulbs and installed 1156 LED bulbs and what a difference in the light and no more dimming when the electric chute is used. The Led bulbs use way less wattage. I can't wait to try this unit.
Gene Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Tim
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Plenty Of Power!!!
Just had our first snow fall that called for my new snow blower, the big BRIGGS did not even break a sweat!! A little under 6 inches, plowed through with no problems and no hesitation. Can not wait to feed this beast 12 inches of snow!!! I have owned a 2 stage snow thrower in the past, just wanted to downsize and I am glad I got the simplicity with the BRIGGS 250cc engine. Great machine
Tim Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
22
David T.
Kernersville, NC
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/24/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready To Rock And "throw" Some Snow
We couldn't wait to get our machine to handle the snow at the church! When our Simplicity 1222EE arrived on time as promised, we were like kids on Christmas morning.

Although it's too early to really put it to the test with snow on the ground, we picked a colder rainy day to test it out. Started up, first pull and purred like a kitten. Next test was the electric start. Sweet!

Not really hoping for a lot of snow but if it comes, we're prepared (secretly, can't wait!!)
David Recommends This Simplicity Product
David's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"When shopping for our first snow blower I didn't have a clue what to buy. Living in North Carolina it's not like we have monster snow accumulation but when we get a heavy snow it's usually wet, heavy and a back breaker to shovel. One call to Customer Service helped tremendously with my questions while I viewed the different products at the website. After the phone call, I returned to the website to place the order. Everything went like clockwork. Easy. Clear. Functional. And no glitches on getting the order delivered when promised...seems it came a day earlier than anticipated. Great website!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
45
Henry S.
Desplaines, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/28/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Eccellent So Far
The product was set up and oil and gas was added and in about 15 minutes the snow blower was up and running. It actually started on the first pull so there was no need to us the electric starter. Was very impressed with the headlight and the electric snow shoot mover.

Looking forward to seeing how it does in the snow.
Henry Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
14
Donald O.
Parsippany, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/23/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Out Of The Box.....as Advertised
I have found that assembly was very easy and all parts and instruction were there. The only thing that you have to watch is pinching cables when assembling the handle. Just waiting for snow.
Donald Recommends This Simplicity Product
Donald's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping and handling is excellent."
 more
Was this review helpful?
14
Douglas C.
Harding, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/7/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly As Expectected
Haven't had a chance to use it yet, but it did start right up as expected.

Now about the company. Really fast shipping best prices on the internet and locally. Will definitely use Snow Blowers Direct for any future purchases for parts.
Pros: Durable, Features, Price, High Quality
Douglas Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
04
William B.
Florissant, MO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/22/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Let It Snow (but Not Too Much)!
I bought the unit in September but here in the Eastern Missouri area significant snowfall doesn't arrive until after January.

The unit started okay and ran fine but the ignition switch would not stop the engine!

I had to take it to a local shop and have the switch replaced under warranty. Otherwise, I am pleased with the purchase.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive, Faulty Ignition Switch
William Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
04
Andy K.
Huntingburg, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Need Snow
Have yet to use the Simplicity Snow blower. Once I get the first snow fall I will rate this blower, until then no comment.
Andy Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
19
Mike M.
Appleton, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/17/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Pull It's Running
4th time is a charm, last year 2013 was full of bad shipping issues and late gifts and a brutal winter. I had 3 blowers shipped 1 was a return because of damage and the other 2 never were delivered because of shipping damage, and I received a full refund!

Now I don't give up easy... So I order new and improved version with the electric chute and saw tooth auger. The blower was delivered in 2 days! The box looked okay not perfect, but No blower damage!

I put in the supplied oil, screwed on... more
Mike Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
294
Russell B.
Chardon, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/18/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tough Guy
This snow thrower has not clogged even with the wet November snow. It has eaten through the chunks at the end of the drive left by the plows. It starts so easy, I don't even use the electric start.
Russell Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
150
Steve J.
De Witt, IA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/4/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Electric Shut Is The Nut, Works Great And Cuts Time
Had great power. The electric chute is the nut works great and takes all the time out of the job. Very easy to start.
Steve Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
184
Scott H.
Wilmington, DE
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Snowblower
Started up immediately with the electric starter. It's very powerful. There's been no clogging through the snow so far.

I had no issues, even with the compacted snow. It's an excellent machine overall.
Scott Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
142
Stephen W.
Bolingbrook, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/29/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointing
We finally had a snowfall in Chicago that warranted using a snow blower. We had just over 20 inches over the course of a day and a half which started out as heavy and wet and later turned into dry and light. I went out a number of times to keep ahead of the snowfall. Sometimes the snow blower started and sometimes it didn't.

I followed the manual's instructions for starting, including the electric start. Electric start worked yesterday. Today it did not. Might have had something to... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Stephen,
We are sorry to hear of the issue you are having with your Simplicity snow blower. If you contact one of our experts at 800-710-7499 we can try to see if we can help get your snow blower started. If not we will be happy to refer you to a servicing dealer that can help remedy your situation.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Stephen,
We're sorry to hear about the difficulties you have had with your unit.
As long as the fuel you are using is fresh (less than 2 weeks old) and the oil level is correct, the engine should start. If it doesn't try to start at all, check to see if you have the proper oil and oil level (as per your owner’s manual). If issues persist next season, please take the unit into an authorized service center to see if there was a manufacturing defect. Follow this link: http://bit.ly/1nK43wl for a service dealer locator.
more
Was this review helpful?
199
Bob L.
Holland, MI
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Lights And Chute Control Do Not Work
Brand new machine used for the first time and lights don't work and the electric chute control doesn't work.
This is a huge disappointment and inconvenience.
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Bob,
Sorry to hear you've had these problems. We'd recommend contacting the seller you bought it from or the manufacturer for additional help. It does come with a 3-year consumer warranty and a 90 day commercial warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
166
Duane H.
Meadville, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/21/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simplicity Snow Blower
I have owned Simplicity mowers for the last 20 years and have always been very impressed with them. This is why I decided to purchase the 1222EE Simplicity snow blower. I added the oil and it fired right up and it purred like a kitten. I can't wait to give it a try when the snow starts flying. I will come back a review it after I get a chance to give it a good work out.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight
Duane Recommends This Simplicity Product
Was this review helpful?
88
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Simplicity 1696517 gas single stage snow blower reviews.Compare our Simplicity 1222EE ratings. Find the Simplicity 1696517 gas single stage snow blower that is right for you.