Your Cart @ Snow Blowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Snow Joe ION18SB Electric Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$379.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$379.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$409.69
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$400.84
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Snow Joe ION18SB Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (42)
Easy To Use (37)
Light Weight (36)
I'd Buy It Again (16)
Exceeded Expectations (15)
Cons
Expensive (14)
Low Quality (3)
Durability (3)
Unreliable (3)
Difficult To Use (2)
87% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
91 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Snow Blower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
42 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
5857 Helpful Votes
Snow Blowers Direct Recommended

Attention all earth lovers. If you want your carbon foot print to be minimal but need a electric single stage snow blower that has the muscle to clear 8” of snow without the hassle of being tethered to a wall outlet. Look no further than the Snow Joe iON18SB.

The Snow Joe iON18SB is a 40 volt, lithium ion powered, one of a kind piece of snow removal equipment. The blower will run up to about 40 minutes at full power not fading or slowing up for even a second.

The Snow Joe iON18SB has... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
142
Tools In Action

Eric Jopp
Tool Expert From Tools In Action
Total Reviews
38 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
362 Helpful Votes
Snow Joe Snow Blower
If you would have asked me a year ago if I would use a battery powered lawnmower, I would have said “heck no”. Then I tried the Ego and my mind was changed. Ask me two months ago if I would ever use a battery powered snow blower and I still would answer “No”. However after using the Snow Joe, my mind was changed once again. Now to be honest when I first heard about the Snow Joe, I can’t say I was really excited. For me it was a battery powered snow blower from a company I had never heard... more
Eric Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
187
Bob M.
Wharton, NJ
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Could Not Be Happier
Purchased the iON 2 years ago and never expected to use it on 30 inches of snow. Yes it was light snow, but between tilting the unit up and pulling the snow down with a shovel, it did the job.
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Bob Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
George L.
Elmont, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/5/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
George
The Snow Joe iON 18" cordless electric snow blower works pretty good when there is only 2-3 inches of snow on the ground. It does not work well at all when there is more than 3 inches of snow on the ground, it is virtually useless after a big snow storm that dumped a mere 8 inches to a foot of snow to the ground. It does not have enough power to do the job, thus, I don't recommend it to anyone who live in the area when there is a potential of a big snow fall.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality
George's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Overall rating for Snow Blowers Direct is good,"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Bruce M.
Andover, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/3/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Snow
This thing made short order of the snow
View Image
Bruce Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Peter H.
Western Springs, IL
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
November Snow Storm Chicago
I combination heavy snow abd ice storm hit Chicago on the 21st of November.

The Snow Joe Lithium-ion Cordless purchased that Morning.

Neighbors had the Gas Driven Snow Blowers doing there Job I smiled and brought out my Snow Joe Ion plugged in the battery and did the same exact clearing of my snow with the same ease but without the noise and smell.

My neighbors were very surprised and wanted to know more especially the neighbor who was having his gas driven snow blower
repaired. ... more
Peter Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
David A.
Claremont, NH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Snow Joe
I'm a landscape and snow removal contractor in NH, and have snow contracts with a lot of stairs and walkways. I wanted a lightweight snow thrower that may help me with shoveling, even though this winter has been a light snow winter for us. The Snow Joe has helped save me on some of the walk shoveling as I wanted it to. It handles about what I expected the Snow Joe to handle, according to your website.

I know it's not a commercial machine, and I am using it for light commercial applications.... more
David Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Wilbur F.
Whitewater, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/26/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed Snow Blower To Use On Wood Deck
I have a large deck, and didn't want to mar the wood with a snow shovel, and sweeping was too labor intensive. Wet heavy snow is a little harder to remove, but it just takes doing smaller paths. I have recommended the snow blower to others that find snow removal labor intensive, because of age, and amount of snow to remove.
Wilbur Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Darryl S.
Waldorf, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/27/16
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Do Your Back, Neck And Shoulders A Favor.
I'm in my mid-fifties and although I should probably be more concerned with a Heart Attack, the problem I have every year it snows heavily is the sore back, neck and shoulders I suffer for days after the shoveling. I finally decided to give this Snow Joe iON a go. First, allow me to point out that this thing would be perfect for dry, fluffy snow up to twelve inches. It's rated at eight inches.

But after this latest round of Snowmaggedon, dumping nearly two feet of wet, heavy, sloppy... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Fast, Lower Back Relief
Darryl Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Darryl's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm a regular customer, having purchased a riding mower, a lawn vacuum and a backpack leaf blower. I'll be back."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ariella M.
Woodmere, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/27/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Trick
Entire family using it. Can be issue if windy and snow blows in your face. Otherwise, well worth the investment for moderate snow. Needed professional for a two foot snow
Ariella Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Leslie R.
Norton, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/23/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Was looking for a durable but lightweight snow blower. This is perfect. Easy assembly, easy to manage. It hasn't snowed yet but will update you when it does!
Leslie Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Leslie's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to navigate, free shipping. Love product!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred S.
Riverhead, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/10/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Joe Ion (18") 40v
Fast Shipment and good packing. It was a little hard to assemble though. The vidio, on assembling the unit, on Utube helped alot especially in the assembly of the deflection chute. The unit is made of plastic and don't know how long it will last in the cold weather.

It is very light weight and my wife is the main reason I bought it. It is a bit pricey though, I guess that is what you have to pay for a cordless unit. I haven't used it in the snow yet but it runs well in the garage. I would... more
Fred Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Garance D.
Troy, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/31/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good For Moderate Amounts Of Snow
I bought this as an experiment to see how well a cordless snow blower could work. My guess was that it should be able to handle the amount of snow that we usually receive where I live. Unfortunately this year we've received a lot more snow than usual!

The first few storms that I used it on were all under six inches, and this did a good job of clearing off my driveway. It turns out my driveway was a bit larger than could be done on a single battery charge, so I ordered a second battery. ... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Garance Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
450
Carl S.
Columbus, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/15/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Works Very Well
I have used this gem a few times now.

It is almost perfect!

It is so light and easy to use - it is almost fun to get out there and clear the snow. It beats using a shovel and lifting - big time. I almost trot with my Joe (it throws farther if you walk a little quicker pace) because it is so easy and light, which means I get done in about 15 minutes - and that is great!

It is quiet. I have been out before dawn and after 10pm - and nobody in the house knew a thing.

We had some... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight
Carl Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
463
Ivan G.
Boulder, CO
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
I Guess You Only Had It 1 Season
Well, last winter my wife bought me the ion18SB and it did OK, not great. After 1 snow fall this season it's dead. The swell flashlight works and the chute still rotates, but the blower is dead.

I'm guessing at about 8 snowfalls, this machine cost me $50/use. I could have stayed in my house and paid someone to do the work... Since I'm pretty handy, I'm going to take into my basement and see if I can't figure out what's wrong with it.

As for my review, consider buying something more... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Ivan,
We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the snow blower you purchased. A better option would be to contact Snow Joe directly. They warranty and manufacture the product. They can be reached at (866) 766-9563.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ivan,
It sounds like the safety key is not in place or has become dislodged from the unit. The headlight and chute rotation will still function, but the unit will not start; this is by design. Try to re-set the safety key in its place. This will allow the iON to start! If you have any questions, please contact us at 1-866-SNOW-JOE for more information.
more
Was this review helpful?
350
L
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tips For Using Snow Joe Ion 18" Cordless Snowblower
This product works well and easily if you are at home during the snowstorm and are able to go out and use this product repeatedly before the snow gets too high. I wear good boots, thermal layers, heated gloves and a plastic poncho to keep warm and dry. If you wait until the end of the snow storm, the snow may be high and the machine may be difficult to push. Once the snow ends, brush away any residual snow with a broom and apply thermogenic ice melter to prevent ice, specially on sloped areas.... more
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Does Not Have The Power Of A 3 Stage Gas Snowblower
L Recommends This Snow Joe Product
L's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered from out of state. A reliable company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
280
Joe W.
Montgomery, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/26/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Can't Wait For Next Snowfall !!!
I have to start by saying I always read reviews but have never been motivated to write one. I live in Minnesota. This blower works great. I have used it 3 times. 2 light snows and today was a good 5 inches, with some deeper drifts. My driveway is about 70 feet in length and 30 feet wide in one part and about 15 feet wide on longer part. Blew it out in about 25 mins. Then I did about 1/3 of the road in front of driveway. Then I blew out a car width in front of mailbox...still going so I went to... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Features
Joe Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
261
Brenda
Morton Grove, IL
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Omg
Just came home after working a double shift to find almost a foot of snow around my house. This little thing worked GREAT. I had a Toro that would never start. Every man could start it, but I could not---and this was with an electric start. I used the video to put it together, and I am really pleased. The only drawback is that you really have to push it in deep snow---it is not self-propelled. But I gave out before the battery did. I am totally impressed. I will charge it overnight, and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Brenda Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
251
Ernest K.
Trimble, OH
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Ion
Our iON came just in time for our first snowfall of three inches of wet soggy snow. I am pleased with the way the iON handles even wet soggy snow. Easy starting, no oil to change. No explosive fuel to store, easy to push and last but not least, always ready to RUN!! A delight to own and use. I am really pleased with my iON!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Ernest Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Ernest Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was very easy for me negotiate and complete my order. The product was shipped promptly and arrived soon after I ordered it. Arrival was timely and the box was in good condition as was the machine. I am well pleased."
 more
Was this review helpful?
329
David D.
Frostburg, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/13/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
All That And More
I bought the Snow Joe in September of 2014 - anticipating another strong Western MD winter like we had in 2013-14. Used it once in December and then again today - three times. It does all that the reviews claim. It is lightweight - enough for this 60 year old to carry up/down three sets of steps from one walk to another to another on two adjacent properties. What used to take 80 to 90 minutes to clear a small 12' x 24' driveway and roughly 75 yards of sidewalk now takes 20-25 minutes.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
David Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
220
Ron M.
Milwaukee, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/31/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snowjoe 18"
Have used the SnowJoe 18" Electric Snow Blower 3 times since receiving it. Clears snow better than I thoulght it would. Throws the snow far enough to keep out of the way and the directional chute is awesome. The battery has held up clearing my front walk including my neighbors walk, along side the house, back walk and garage side slab and apron. Don't smell like gas and oil either. One heck of a product.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Ron Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
242
William H.
Yorkville, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/12/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Enough Power
We only had two snow events so far in Yorkville, IL and both were rather light only 2-3 inches. However, both times my new iON snow blower disappointed me.

It needs more power to help eliminate snow. Have to grab only small amounts of snow during each pass before the unit dies and automatically restarts itself.

The battery was under a full charge and lasted a good 30 plus minutes during each event.

On the positive note I did not disrupt my sleeping neighbors while I cleaned off the... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Expensive
Was this review helpful?
266
Douglas Mueller
Stillman Valley, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/29/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprised How Well It Worked.
Purchased for elderly parents to do their sidewalks and deck. 6 in. snow was no problem, and Mom even did their small driveway. Of course, not as fast and powerful as bigger blowers, but very easy to use. Mom is not strong enough to start a gas engine, and doesn't have any experience with them. Battery powered is easy.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Douglas Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
201
Stephen H.
Maple Grove, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/2/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Doesn't Like The Cold
Purchased my ION18SB last November. I posted an earlier very positive review. But now that typical Minnesota cold has arrived I feel I need to update. We keep our snow blower in the garage, battery is inside in the warm, and I've discovered that the motor that turns the chute won't run when it's zero or below.

Works fine when I bring the unit indoors and let it warm up. Being in Minnesota where sub-zero temps are common this is not very useful. Called Snowjoe and they said this is to... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
192
Doug W.
Chester Springs, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/21/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy To Use But Limited Muscle.
I bought the Snow Joe in October 2014 for my 75 year old mother. She has aversion to gas engines as they don't always fire up for her. So the battery powered Snow Joe seemed like the next best option, but I was concerned about just how much "muscle" a cordless snow blower would have.

The purchasing experience from Snow Blowers Direct was top notch. Easy to order, received quickly, and in good condition. I couldn't believe how light it was. Set up was easy, my mother was skeptical... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive, Limited Power
Doug Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
160
Kellie W.
Aztec, NM
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/27/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought As A Gift
I bought this for my mom, who after having surgery is not supposed to lift anything heavy. She has been shoveling her driveway (going out multiple times a night) so that the load is not to heavy. I wanted to get her a snow blower, but it needed to be light and also have an electric start as she is unable to use a pull cord. This was the only electric start I could find that was cordless. Dragging around an extension cord through the snow just doesn't seem like it's worth the trouble. My... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Kellie Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Kellie Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering from the website was easy. Within ten minutes of placing the online order an employee from Snow Blowers Direct called me to verify my order since I was shipping to a different address than my billing address. I appreciated that they were looking out for my best interest. Although it was free shipping I chose a 2 day shipping for an extra price. Since the shipping was free and the price for the snow blower was cheaper here than any other place I looked I figured it was worth it. My Mom received her new snow blower within the 2 day shipping time. I live out west and have no need for snow blowers, but am glad that I found this website for my moms gift and would definitely recommend to anyone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
150
Wayne T.
Great Falls, MT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/7/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Snow Joe Ion (18") 40-volt Lithium-ion Cordless Electric Snow Bl
I am very disappointed with my purchase. I used for the first two nights ago and it did not live up to my expectations. It only discharged the snow about 2 feet, and every time I pushed, it would tip forward. It doesn't have the power to plow through soft or hardened snow.
Was this review helpful?
151
Paul R.
Amherst, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/31/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Absolutely Fantastic Snow Blower
When I read the reviews of the Snow Joe I thought the blower would be pretty good but the writers were probably exaggerating a bit. Well, after I have used the Snow Joe in NE OHIO during the worst winter in 20 years I will tell you this thing is absolutely fantastic. It is quiet, smooth, powerful, and the battery lasts through the entire job with power to spare. I have a three car garage with a huge driveway and sidewalks the length of my 120 foot property width. I have a sidewalk along the... more
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Paul Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Paul Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This company is honest and fast! Best price on the internet when you figure $0 and $0 tax. The blower came within a few days - sooner than promised."
 more
Was this review helpful?
130
Steve M.
Albany, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/7/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Used Once...so Far ,,,so Good
Our first storm was a fluffy 8" and the Snow Joe handled it well without having to recharge the battery. The driveway is 25' X 50' with two cars parked and nowhere to move them. That means parts of the driveway had to be done twice.

The true test will happen when the snow is wet and heavier.

Very easy to assemble....10 minutes...no tools.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
Steve Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Donna H.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Loving It In Pittsburgh Pa
Moved back to east after 5 yrs in California. Didn't want to deal with gasoline. The 40 volt snow 18" is more than enough for my area.

Have a large driveway w/tall retaining wall that it easily blows the snow over. Very happy so far.
Donna Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Joann G.
Newport News, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/3/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Limited Use
I live in Virginia on the coast where we get limited snow or snow accumulations. I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my husband. Based on the description, I felt this would be ideal for our location. However, after Christmas we received about 6 inches of snow and although this unit took care of the snow removal, it was difficult to push though the snow and was unable to be pushed steadily through the snow. A larger motor/unit would have been much better. In addition, the blower did... more
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive, Difficult To Use, Not As Described
Joann Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Since my purchase was for a Christmas present, I had requested the snow blower be shipped without typical markings/identification. My request was honored and the blower was shipped quickly. I was kept informed of any delays that occurred and notified that my purchases would be received in time for Christmas. I am very pleased with Snow Blowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
131
Arthur W.
Pennsauken, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/9/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Joe Ion
I purchased this equipment because of my disability, and my desire to have ability. That being said, I've used this equipment today for the 1st time and was pleased to be able to use it from mobility equipment. Basically from a 4 wheel scooter. I used to get around my property. I have Multiple Sclerosis and I'm not quite ready to give up or wait for someone to give me the freedom of mobility. Thank you and my wife can use it as well.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
Arthur Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Connie M.
Topeka, KS
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/8/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought For Husband
This snow blower greatly reduces the strain on my husband's (72 yrs old) back and heart. It does a good job and he is not exhausted when done.

He especially likes not having a cord to worry with when using the snow blower.

He has used it only twice, since we have erratic snow fall.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Connie Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Connie Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Exceptional service and personal attention to buyers needs. The shipping was free, and they upgraded the service so it arrived in two days - without any request from me! I am very impressed and pleased with their service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
144
Thomas O.
Hokah, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/8/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Walk Fast
Tried it for the first time in 3 inches of light fluffy snow. Didn't throw the snow more than 2 feet. Packed it up and was ready to send back. My brother told me to push it walking faster, I was going at a very slow pace the first time. Received 4 inches of snow, unpacked it for another try, walked at a faster pace and it threw the snow very far! Love how light it is, carried it around back and cleared the deck, how it starts instantly, doesn't use gas or oil, doesn't take up the entire... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Thomas Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Bob
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cordless Snow Blower Great For Small Jobs.
The Snow Joe cordless snow blower took care of 150 feet of side walk, 50 ft of driveway, and another 50 ft of dog run with out a problem. It still had battery to spare. The snow was 8 inches of light powder and it went thru it in a single pass. The end of the driveway was plowed in wet (not slush) about 1 ft, and it also took care of that with a push/pull action. It didn't throw the wet stuff to far, but enough to get it out of the way.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Did Not Throw Heavywet Snow Very Far But It Did Get It Done
Bob Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Mark L.
Beachwod, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/8/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Snow Joe Ion (18") 40-volt Lithium-ion Cordless Electric Snow Bl
purchased this to replace GreenWorks 26032 12 Amp 20" Corded Snow Thrower

what I like about snow joe iON
-no power cord
-motorized chute
what I do not like about snow joe iON
-only throws snow appox. 2' at the most

to Summarize
-I am sorry I purchased this unit
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the performance of the Snow Joe product you purchased. Your best option would be to contact Snow Joe directly to express your dissatisfaction with this product. Snow Joe can be reached at (866) 766-9563. I'm sure they would appreciate the feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
91
Casey L.
Maplewood, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/26/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Handles Minnesota Winters!
I was pleasantly surprised that the Sno Joe Ion handled our last snowfall of 5"- 6" of fairly wet heavy snow. I put it together in a few minutes, charged the battery and cleaned out my driveway and patio area in no time. I have a Toro Powercurve 1800 as well and love it also but the cord is a pain. Love the Ion-no cord! If you need something bigger with more power, then you may not be satisfied but if you understand this machines abilities and limits, then there's no reason you won't... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Light Switch Too Close To Chute Toggle Switch
Casey Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Casey Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My Snow Joe Ion arrived sooner than expected. It was well packed and very easy to set up. Shipping was free which cinched the deal or I might not have bought it. I'll make other purchases from Snow Blowers Direct in the future."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Mo H.
Mentor, OH
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great
First for the negative. Unit delivered with one wheel not attached, after a service call and some fiddling, got it on. Second, battery cover would not stay closed the compartment got packed with snow, until I put a rubberband around the cover. Customer service sending a replacement cover.

Now for the meat. This thing cleared my 30' drive in 8 minutes down to the surface. It ate through 12" of snow and a sleet pack in northeast Ohio. The bad reviews don't make sense. It seems cheap due... more
Mo Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Jack T.
Livonia, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Blessing
The electric Snow Joe works great. I can't believe how quiet it is. I have used on powder and wet snow. It plows through both very well. It's slows a little with the wet stuff but it does not clog up and pushes it out. A very good buy.
Jack Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Beverly
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/31/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poor Performance
Have tried to use this for two snow events so far this winter, both unsuccessful. It keeps stalling & then won't restart. Also, it is very hard to get the battery in & the battery door cover won't close all the way. very frustrating.. I almost bought an electric start model for $100 more than this one, but when the clerk was explaining about using the throttle, priming it, gas, oil, etc. my eyes glazed over & I went for this one based on all the 5 star reviews. Unfortunately, I am... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Beverly,
We are sorry to hear the issue you are having with your snow blower. If you contact us at 800-710-7499 one of our experts can possibly trouble shoot the unit over the phone. If performance is an issue, the manufacturer Snow Joe can be of assistance as well. Snow Joe can be reached at (866) 766-9563. Due to the fact this purchase is outside of our 30 day return policy we will not be able to accept it back.
more
Beverly's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"fast to ship, etc.. just not satisfied with the machines performance."
 more
Was this review helpful?
81
Michael S.
Florissant, MO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/2/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cordless Winter Workmate!
Although I've not had many opportunities to use it yet, 2 so far this winter, this unit performed well for me. Cleared a nice clean path along a 50x3ft. walkway as well as a 30ft clearance of 6 inches of snow in about 30 minutes, with little battery fade. It's still too early to tell whether this snow blower lives up to expectations, but so far so good!
The powered directional chute is a definite plus, as is the led headlamp. Most of all it's lightweight and cord free. As with all cordless... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Features
Michael Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
71
L
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lithium Ion Battery/charger Etc, For Cordless Snowjoe
As I learned after contacting Snow Joe customer service: do not plug more than one battery/charger into the same electrical outlet. Each battery/charger needs it's own dedicated electric line (just like your major appliances) otherwise the battery & charger will get hot and emit an overheating odor. If you have a large property, it is good to have more than one.

Happy to have this delightfully cordless, quiet snow blower. My wishes for future product development are a self propelled... more
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Features
L Recommends This Snow Joe Product
L's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A good reliable company. Ordered from another state."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Daniel T.
Chicago, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/2/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Good
The snow blower is easy to use, extremely quiet, and surprisingly powerful for its size and weight. We have received several dumps of 3-6 inches of snow this winter and the snow blower has been able to handle all of it. I do have to go slowly if the snow is deeper or packed, as the motor can't throw the snow very far under those conditions. However, the small size and ease of use was much more important to me than being able to move larger amounts of snow. Build quality appears to be okay. The... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Daniel Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Charles L.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/13/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Time For A Battery Snow Blower
I wanted an easy to use single stage snow blower for those 3 to 9 inch snow falls Decided it was time to try a battery powered, NO gasoline.

First time out I did my 98 ft. driveway covered by 12 to 14 inches of snow with one battery charge. I find it simple and easy to use.

Would like the battery and charger to be less affected by cold temperatures. I wanted to charge the battery in my unheated garage. Reading the manual I decided I needed to do in my heated basement.

In the future... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Durability, Hardier Battery Too Dependant, Temperature
Charles Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Charles Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems and delivery was good, even the back ordered item."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Bj
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saved My Day!
I live in Northeast Ohio, and the snow just hasn't stopped here. My husband has just been told he will need open-heart surgery and he can't do any type of snow shoveling or snow blowing.

We had an older snow plow, but it was just too hard for me to use. Then I found Snow Joe. It's light weight, easy to use and gets the job done. It's saving me money also, because I don't have to call a snow removal service as often - just for the big snows of 5" plus.

I highly recommend the Snow Joe.
Bj Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Donald W.
Bellerose, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/10/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent, Perfect For My Needs.
After hoping purchase would be followed by a low snow Winter season, we've had plenty of snow on Long Island. My new SnowJoe did as good a job as hoped and then some. Even handled deeper than designed for, with a bit raising and lowering the business end. Was able to clear, between my property and a neighbor's, 2 passes on 100' of sidewalks, two passes on two 35' entrance walks and multiple passes on two 50' driveways. On one charge, in 30 to 35 minutes and even faster in lesser snowfalls.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Excellent Overall
Donald Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Moss Finkelstein
South Salem, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Compact Snowblower
No gas, no fumes, runs for over 30 minutes on one charge. Can easily be lifted to do decks, rear walkways, etc. But not for heavy, deep snow. Head light is handy for night work.

A must have as you can clear snow on your way out in the AM without getting gas fumes all over your business clothes. And quiet, so you can use it as early in the day as you want.
Moss Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Moss's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick shipment, arrived in good condition."
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Manan P.
Moorestown, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Snow Blower!
We live in South New Jersey and can expect at most one or two snowfalls per year ranging between a few inches to about a foot or so.

I just recently bought the Snow Joe iON (18") 40-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Electric Snow Blower and used it for the first time yesterday after an eight inch snowfall. I was able to put it together in about 10 to 15 minutes out of the box.

I charged the battery pack for about 2 hours until it was fully charged and then cleaned my entire driveway in... more
Manan Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
51
William W.
Glendale, MO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/4/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Charm
I just cleared 4" of snow from my long driveway, large back parking area and walkways. It took me less than 30 minutes. The blower did an excellent job. I particularly like how you can change the direction of the blower chute with just a flick of the switch.
William Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Vernon E.
Fort Recovery, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/7/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought To Get Rid Of Snow Shoveling
I have used my snow blower two times. We had about 4 to 5 inches both times it done the job with ease. It really surprised me with the way it handled it. I am glad I bought the machine I should have done it sooner.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Vernon Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Chris H.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/9/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All At That Was Promised
Great Product. Easy to assemble and moved the snow just as described. Tires could be a bit more heavy duty but would add to the weight.
Chris Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Ken F.
Ann Arbor, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/1/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It Can Be Done With Batteries!
We have an 1/8th acre lot (small) and just need to clear driveway and sidewalks. Lots of snow this winter. It does the job. gives me about a 1/2 hour of snow blowing and then takes about 2-1/2 to recharge. That's all we need on our city lot.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Ken Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Robert R.
Bedford, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 7/20/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Use
We have been lucky this winter in Southern Indiana. This is the first snow of more than a half inch. Eight inches yesterday.

Sno-Joe worked as advertised. Not quite as powerful as my electric with cord, but not messing with the cord is a blessing. Did NOT run the battery down removing the 8 inches of snow from a 26 foot by 35 foot driveway.
Robert Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Dianna F.
Chadwick, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/8/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow! Its Great For Us Old People!
We purchases this after my husband has open heart surgery because the other one was too much for me. This one is great, does over 8" of snow, and its not heavy or cumbersome to handle.

I love using it, and my husband can use it and its not to much for him. It does a great job, & we got an extra battery, so we can get all the sidewalks and drive done at one time. WHAT A GREAT PRODUCT. THANKS!
Dianna Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Mara H.
Algonquin, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/24/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Hopefully Just A Glitch!
It took me a while to review it because after we bought it, OF COURSE it only snowed one day (it worked fine), and didn't snow for two months after that!

This past weekend we had quite a snow storm in Chicagoland, so we used it again. Twice on Sunday and it did well (in spite of the heavy snowfall), but on Monday morning when we tried to use it, the chute was stuck and wouldn't rotate. We thought it might be frozen, but when we tried later after keeping the snow blower in a warmer place, it... more
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Features, Fast
Mara Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Mara,
If you continue having problems, don't hesitate to contact us. We're here to help if you need us. Best of luck, and stay warm out there!
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Christine M.
Orland Park, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/9/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Made For Midwest Winters
The first time I tried using the snow blower, it did not have enough power to throw the snow as far as on-line demonstrations showed. The snow chute froze up and wouldn't turn after just a few minutes. The entire snow blower stopped working next. All of this happened within 10 minutes of trying to use. I ran down the battery. I recharged the battery. The snow chute moves, but the snow blade does not run.
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Christine,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you have had with your Snow Joe snow blower. Please give us a call and we would be happy to contact Snow Joe on your behalf, we can be reached at 800-710-7499. If you would rather call Snow Joe direct, they can be reached at (866) 766-9563. Either, way either one of us would be happy to assist with the issues you are having.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Yvonne S.
Wausau, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/11/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
Great Chrismas gift! We got several inches of snow just after New Year's Day. It was cold and windy and the snow had drifted. The snow blower made the job of clearing snow much easier and quicker.

Liked the automatic rotation of the chute and the ease of starting the machine. A job that takes about 45 minutes of hand shoveling was finished in about 20 minutes. Long battery life and it went through some packed drifts with ease.
Yvonne Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Edmund T.
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Snowblower
This snow blower is good for light or powdery snow with less than 10 inches of accumulation. The battery life is acceptable.

The machine is lightweight and easily transported. This snow blower is great for small driveways, walkways, and decks.

Not having to deal with gasoline is also a plus.
Edmund Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Stephen H.
Maple Grove, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/2/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does What I Needed
I've only had my snow blower for a short time but so far very happy. Our home is part of an association that takes care of plowing for snows over 2", but since 90% of storms are under this I wanted something to handle the rest. I've only used twice so far buts it's really made quick work. Even though the 1st storm was heavy wet snow it was able to handle it. Dust throw the wet snow very far but was still better than shocking. I've been able to do my full driveway, side walk and 325... more
Stephen Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Michael K.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/21/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Well After First Storm With 4 Inches
we are on a corner lot with a 2 car detached garage and a 30 ft sidewalk to the garage. The blower did a good job, the battery lasted for about 45 min, then I used a 2nd battery (bought separately). I love the fact that it is lightweight and I don't have to maintain another device with a motor.
Michael Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
John A.
Setauket, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/3/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Great machine- easy to use
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
John Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Larry L.
Greensburg, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/3/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad I Bought It When I Did!
Heard about this snow blower on a local radio talk show and it piqued my interest. Gas powered and corded electric equipment had their downsides. I researched and found the "Snow Joe" available and the price was right. Received it just before some of the coldest weather in 20 years and it works GREAT! It is quiet, doesn't emit noxious fumes and is light weight enough to carry around to places where I don't have to plug it in!!!

P. S. I saw this offered through a company that has... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Price
Larry Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Thomas L.
Princeton, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/3/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
I've only used it twice, both for 8" snow storms with light fluffy snow, but it worked like a champ. Light weight, quiet, no nasty fumes, easy to use, and quite effective. We live on a corner so have a lot of sidewalk. The snow blower made it easy and fun. I bought a second battery with it but so far I haven't needed it, even with a two-car driveway and 400 feet of sidewalk. So much better than those beast snow blowers you commonly see.

Hoping it lasts.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Thomas Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Robert B.
Kalispell, MT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/11/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not What I Expected
Works ok for my deck but only throws snow 5-10 feet. I live in Montana and the dryer the snow the better it works, 3 to 4 inches max. Chute will clog fairly often, even if you have it almost vertical. If you need one for more than deck or other walks, driveway aprons etc. get a real snow blower. Expensive toy.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive, Difficult To Use
Robert Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very prompt shipping. The Snow Joe " ion " is way over stating it's abilities."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
M. R.
Norton, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My Snow Joe Review!
We are from Massachusetts and as you know we got clobbered this year with record breaking amounts of snow. All I can say is we are so happy to have purchased the Snow Joe this year. We have a big property and needed to pave paths to our barn, propane tank, generator, dog yard and hot tub.

If we had to shovel that amount of snow we both would have suffered with shoulder and back injuries with all the snow we had. Snow Joe was fantastic in getting the job done. I can only think of 3... more
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Features, Price
Cons: Bladdes Get Stuck In Heavy Snow Battery Does Not Last Long
M. Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Marco C.
Bristol, CT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/30/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Machine
We purchased this Snow Joe iON, and did not really know what to expect except what we had read on the reviews. We are really satisfied with the performance of this little guy. It's a lot more heavy-duty than we thought.

I was able to clear our deck, which had almost two feet of snow from several snow falls. Not without a little effort on my part as well, but the machine cuts through snow very well.

I cleared the driveway even where the snow plow packs the snow, we are very satisfied... more
Marco Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
20
John F.
Wilmington, DE
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/15/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Easy To Use
I am so glad I purchased this snow blower. I plan on buying one for my daughter. As a senior citizen, this has been wonderful to use. Thank you
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
John Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
31
David P.
Livonia, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/21/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Heavy First Test
I've only had one snowfall to test the snow blower, but it performed reasonably well. The snow was SUPER heavy & wet. I wasn't expecting much, because I consider this a light weight snow blower.

However, it got the job done. The battery life expired just as I completed the task, but I attributed this to the extra heavy duty work load. Looking forward to a more normal weight of snow for the next test.
David Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Cheryl B.
Waukesha, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/1/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Machine Is Awesome
A pain to put together, but worth it. Runs like a dream, works hard with a long battery life.
Cheryl Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael O.
Hawley, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snowjoe Is Everything It Says
The Snow Joe works great. I had about 6 inches of snow, and it plowed right through it.

The only problem I had with it was trying to keep the battery cover closed, but I solved that with a bungy cord.
Michael Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jesse M.
Silver Spring, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/30/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far, I'm Loving It!
We got 6-8 inches of snow two days ago and this was my first opportunity to use the unit.

I cleared my back walkway, then proceeded up the side alley to the front of the house and it worked like a charm.

Did the front with ease so I did my neighbors while I was at it. I give thumbs up, now we see how long it lasts.
Jesse Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard A.
Hinsdale, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/17/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
Bought it because my wife would not use a heavy gas blower. She loves this one and uses it all the time.
Only use it for sidewalk and pathways. Works great.
Richard Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sandra S.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/12/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Snow Joe Ion
Not very happy - the snow is always blowing back on me - the lid for the battery is constantly opening - no matter how many times I move the chute-it goes into the upright position.
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Sandra,
We are sorry to hear of the issue with your Snow Joe product. Your situation seems to be attributed to a design issue. Please feel free to give us a call and we can get in touch with Snow Joe on your behalf to try to sort out this issue. Please give us a call at 800-710-7499. If you would like to contact Snow Joe directly, they can be reached at (866) 766-9563. I'm sure they would appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Mary S.
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/22/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
I wanted an easy to handle snow blower for my side walks and walkways that was clean and low maintenance. This is perfect for me.

Light weight, easy to store and powerful, quiet, clean and effecient, I feel more confident using this than my previous gas powered blower
Mary Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Lorraine
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/8/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Having Fun In The Snow.
I wonder whether the plastic parts are going to last, especially the wheels. It's easy to operate and seems to be handling the job, though I haven't had to put it to much of a test yet. I love the color, and it's easy to transport and store.
Lorraine Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Lorraine's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shopping, shipping and putting the machine together were fairly easy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Lynn C..
Arkdale, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/1/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Early Snow
I wanted to use the snow blower but didn't want to try it yet, but did use it and love it
Lynn Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
43
John M.
New Hope, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/3/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Joe
Is a great snowblower. Just bought an additional battery so I can knock off blowing my driveway in an hour without having to recharge and wait for the charging of 1 battery for 2 hrs or more. Love the blower.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
John Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Susan M.
Owego, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/17/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
The only problem I've had is that the wheel came off in the process of putting it back on the clip gets pounded onto the shaft apparently it didn't grab a hold of the shaft fell off again if you had drill the hole on either side of the shaft and use the cotter pin it would work better.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Durability
Susan Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Judith C.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/16/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing
Starts easily and is easy to use. Light weight and amazingly strong, as we have an Arctic cold and a lot of snow that it moves easily even in below zero weather.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
Judith Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Cheryl R.
Milwaukee, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/13/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
I had battery lawn mower and loved it. When I saw the reviews on the snow blower I decided to try it. I am pleased I did.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cheryl Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Vincent A.
Glendale, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/5/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy Assembly
I have not used it yet, but putting it together was easy. Everything seems to work fine, but I will know more when we get our first snow fall!
Vincent Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Vincent,
Vincent, thanks for picking up an iON! Enjoy it this season. If you have any questions, we are hear to help at 866-766-9563.
more
Vincent's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"not used yet but shipping was fast"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sharanda J.
Bethlehem, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/2/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not So Happy!
I'm not happy with this product! It's snowed three times since I made the purchase. The soft fluffy snow gets blown all over the place, including backwards into your face because the snow doesn't get pushed very far from the chute. But I was ok with that because it was faster & easier than shoveling, and the salt melted what was left behind. Well, over the weekend was the first HEAVY snow since my purchase and this snow blower had nothing for it...at all!! I had to shovel! The reason I... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Features
Cons: Unreliable, Cannot Handle Heavy Snow, Too Light
Sharanda Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My experience with the company was fine when I made the purchase. Hopefully it will remain that way upon the return of the product. I don't have anything negative to say about the company thus far...just the Snow Joe iON snow blower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
44
Carol S.
Ann Arbor, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/2/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Nice Light Duty Blower But Chute Is A Problem
Would be 4 stars except chute will not stay in position to blow sideways - keeps readjusting itself to blow straight upwards. Best for 4" or less lightweight snow. I have used this once on 4" wet snow and it could not handle it. Very pleased with battery so far - 1/2 1800sf driveway on one charge. I am concerned about durability so I bought the extended warranty.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Clean Path
Cons: Chute Adjustment
Carol Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Joseph O.
East Rockaway, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/30/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Time Use
10 inches light and fluffy snow no problem.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
Joseph Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Lacoure V.
Detroit, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/1/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Job
Works well on 2" to 4" of light snow.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
Lacoure Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Joseph A.
Hooksett, NH
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Snow Yet, But I Love It!
Just received my snow blower, very ease to assemble. When I first put the battery in and started it, I was very surprised how quiet it was. I had to ask my wife to see if it was running. Can't wait for first snowfall.
Joseph Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Atul S.
Moon Township, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/18/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Luv My Snow Blower
Easy to use.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality
Atul Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Atul Would Recommend Snow Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to use."
 more
Was this review helpful?
23
Ray M.
Severna Park, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/17/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Light, Powerful & Easy To Use. Couldn't Be More Satisfied.
The title says it all...
Ray Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Ray's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great tools, at great prices and great people!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Karen
Minneapolis, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/18/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Snow Joe Cordless
purchased as a birthday gift for my husband
Karen Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Karen's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Works beautifully for the three inch snowfall we've had so far - I believe it would be fine with a deeper snow also. The only fault is the cover for the battery - it keeps opening, so we've added a large rubber band to go around it. When putting the battery in, make sure to seat it firmly down or it can loosen and make you think it's lost power."
 more
Was this review helpful?
13
Marc I.
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/3/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Snow Yet
We've not had snow yet but am anxious to try it out. one of the screws on the handle does not tighten very well and am afraid of losing it. love the fact that it is light weight. am hoping it works as great as you say.
Marc Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Marc's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have already recommended it to many"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Paul B.
Reading, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/28/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Put Togther
Have not used it yet.
Paul Recommends This Snow Joe Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Snow Joe ION18SB electric snow blower reviews.Compare our Snow Joe ION18SB ratings. Find the Snow Joe ION18SB electric snow blower that is right for you.