Your Cart @ Snow Blowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Toro 518 ZE Gas Single Stage Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$399.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 38473 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Store (12)
Price (7)
Easy To Use (7)
Durable (4)
High Quality (3)
Cons
Low Quality (2)
Unreliable (2)
Small Blade Depth (1)
Underpowered For Large D... (1)
Missing Quick Chute Feat... (1)
92% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
122 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Snow Blower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
42 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
5870 Helpful Votes
Snow Blowers Direct Recommended

The Toro Power Clear 518ZE is perfect for clearing walks and driveways down to the pavement with ease and throws snow up to 25 feet away. The compact size also makes the model very easy to maneuver and store.

The Toro Power Clear 518ZE features a New Upgraded 4-Cycle 99cc Toro OHV engine with a convenient electric start system. These engines have been tuned to provide optimal performance, and will move more snow faster when you need it most.

The Toro Power Clear 518ZE is engineered with... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
37239
Jim
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Heart Attack!
At almost 83 years old I was having difficulty getting my driveway and sidewalks shoveled and the work with a shovel was too much. This blower works perfectly like all TORO products. I have others. Out of the box it this blower started on the first push of the button. It really works - very pleased.
Jim Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Lauranne W.
Lexington, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/18/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Terribly Disappointed!!
I did my research and selected this model for its reliability and cleaning ability. It appeared to meet my needs as a senior citizen (light weight and easy start). Unpacked it, added oil and fuel and it started right off. It never did clear right to the sidewalk as advertised, but I thought it might be a learning curve for me. I had performed all the adjustments as outlined in the manual.

The second snowfall is why I am writing this negative review. The snowfalls were less than 30 days... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Lauranne,
I am sorry to hear of the negative experience you have had with your Toro single stage snow blower. If this is a manufacturer defect the repairs will be covered under warranty. With these units there are a few troubleshooting tips you can try if the engine will not crank/start:

Is the fuel shut off valve closed?
Is there a build up of dirt and residue around the governor/carburetor?
Is the engine start switch turned off?

If you have checked all of these possibilities, unfortunately the next best option would be to take the unit to a certified Toro service center.

Once again, I do apologize for the issues you have experienced with the unit. If you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Nicole Monaghan
Sherborn, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/7/15
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Little Blower
Delivery was so quick, I am really impressed! Unfortunately I ordered it too late in the season to get rid of the previous snow, but with fresh snowfall it is doing a great job! I live in Boston, MA and we are getting hammered here.
View Image
Nicole Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
166
Philip W.
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/1/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive Machine
The little Toro 518 ZE looks well made and easy to use. The set up directions were brief and simple. It came with oil in a long spout container but a funnel is still necessary to avoid oil drips. The dip stick is a bit hard to read. Best to go by 12 oz measure to fill.

Haven't found the drain plug yet. The manual is really too simple. No directions on how to change the oil or spark plug. Nothing on long term maintenance. The 518 started on the first pull and the first electric start. .
Philip Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Gary R.
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/8/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 38473
I live in Kentucky we had two 10-inch snows last year I moved here from Michigan and thought I'd never see snow like that again people at work laughed at me for buying a snow thrower but this little snow thrower I had an older model and sold it and if it's anything like that other little old snow thrower I owned it's going to be fantastic the price is awesome with the electric start I shopped around they pay your tax and shipping you can't beat it
Gary Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Sajed
Flushing, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/12/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snowpocalypse 2016
We were just hit with over 27 inches of snow in NYC, and finally got a chance to un-box this bad boy. I must say, this machine handles the snow like a champ. Setup was fairly quick and easy. I power and control of this machine is fantastic. Would highly recommend this anyone looking for a smaller unit
Sajed Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Perry W.
North Ridgeville, OH
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
I have had this machine for over 2 years now. Starts easy and has not let me down even in deep snow. I take half passes and it does the job. It is a small blower do not expect it to do bigger jobs than it can handle. I also use a silicone spray on the blade and the shut works even better. Very happy with this blower.
Perry Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Gary P.
Fairfax, IA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/18/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Unbelievable Service
I ordered a snow blower from you on a Wednesday noon and received it here in Iowa at 10AM the next morning. I bought one last year from you and got the same service.

Thanks very much.
Gary Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Charles M.
Channahon, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/20/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready......set.....blow!
I bought this 518 ZE based on reviews. Came quick. Spent about an hour in assembly and reading instructions. I'm ready to test it out since I missed the first snowfall this year. It started on the first pull. Good sign. I think I'm set to put it through the real test of removing snow. So when the snow comes, let it blow!!!
Charles Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Gerald C.
Plymouth Twp, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/27/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Deal
Great job team! I got here early easy to put together it snowed the other day 4in. worked very well! Thanks
Gerald Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
David G.
Wheatfield, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/27/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Blower
The unit came packed very nicely. Easy to unpack and assemble. Put in the oil provided. Gassed it up and it started on the second pull. Tried the electric starter and that worked as well. Nice unit and a good value!
David Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Appukutty V.
Franklin Square, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Efficient Machine
After 24+" snow fall on Jan 23 storm, this grate little machine did the job well done. I will recommend this machine.
Appukutty Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Linda M.
Vicksburg, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/9/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Christmas Gift For Hubby
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband, but it is so easy to handle. And with the electronic start, it starts right away! I love using it, and have only let him use it one time so far!
Linda Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Barbra C.
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/7/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Great!
Started on first yank (forget the cord). Finished my wide, long driveway half-court turnaround, half-drive and sidewalks for me and my neighbors in under an hour.
Barbra Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jerrold O.
Cloquet, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/4/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use.
Preforms as advertised. Moves 5"-6" fluffy snow with ease. Assembly was easy, although I had to bend the control cable hook to attach,and the discharge chute knob came loose and was lost during the first snow run. My wife tried it we're both in our late 70's and found it easy to operate.
Jerrold Recommends This Toro Product
Jerrold's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent service, and the price was right."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Leo K.
Durand, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/26/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Machine
Today was the first time I used my new snowblower. Put oil and gas in it. It started up right away. My old one kept getting caught when I hit a panel of sidewalk that wasn't lined up well. This one just went right over them. Blew the snow as fast as I leisurely walked along. Wonderful!!!!!
Leo Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Gregory T.
Davenport, IA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/23/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Two Day Delivery As Promised
As promised by Snow Blowers Direct my Toro 518 ZE arrived undamaged within two days of delivery, was able to put together in 40 minutes with no real issue. Once I added oil and fresh gas it started within two pulls and the electric start also worked without issue. I am ready to go once we get our first snow fall.
Gregory Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ryan O.
Iowa City, IA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/7/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cleared 8 Inches Of Wet Heavy Snow On First Go...
Purchased this model upon consulting with my friend who works in the winter clearing paths for the DNR, and felt good about the recommendation given the price and the quick delivery. Got it here and assembled it just in advance of the first Iowa snow, which was a sloppy 8 inches. Started up and worked it like a charm.

I'll admit this was my first time ever running a snow blower (always hated the idea of getting something like that for the few occasions a good steel shovel wouldn't do) but I... more
Ryan Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Gary R.
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/8/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 38473
I live in Kentucky we had two 10-inch snows last year I moved here from Michigan and thought I'd never see snow like that again people at work laughed at me for buying a snow thrower but this little snow thrower I had an older model and sold it and if it's anything like that other little old snow thrower I owned it's going to be fantastic the price is awesome with the electric start I shopped around they pay your tax and shipping you can't beat it.
Gary Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeff W.
Peyton, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/3/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Save The Back
Got the first snow with 17 inch drifts. Snow blower worked great. Had to adjust for half the scoop since the depth of snow. Would recommend to purchase!
Jeff Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Diane R.
Henrietta, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/22/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just The Right Size
I'm a 70 yr. old woman and I bought this snow blower so I can plow the driveway. It hasn't snowed yet, but the blower is very light and should be easy for me handle. I have had Toro Products in the past and have been satisfied with the performance and quality.
Diane Recommends This Toro Product
Diane's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The snow blower was shipped immediate. Arrived in great condition. Very satisfied!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Denise
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Is Great!
I am a 62 year old woman. I bought a Toro Power Clear 528 ZE for the 2016 snow season. This is the first snowblower that I have ever owned. Used it today 2/11/2016 for the first time. Works great! Used electric start and started right up. Easy to handle. Thanks.
Denise Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Hank J.
Roseville, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/4/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Snow Blower
Easy for wife to start, run and handle
Hank Recommends This Toro Product
Hank's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Satisfied"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Glenn F.
Frederic, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive Snowblower Prior To Snow...
First off, I was amazed when this snowblower showed up on my doorstep 2 days after I ordered it. Just like other reviewers have stated, attach the handle, pour the enclosed oil in, add gas, choke, prime 2x and started on second pull.

Now I will admit that this new 4 cycle engine is a little louder than the older 2 cycles Toro was known for but not unbearable. It is nice though not having to mix gas and oil ! It also seems to be slightly heavier than the old 2 cycles but my wife stated it... more
Glenn Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Evelyn G.
Hinckley, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/13/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Driveway Cleaning
It has been a mild winter in Ohio and I have had only one occasion to use my Toro snow blower. I have a concrete driveway 90' by 16'.

I cleared 4 to 8 inches of heavy wet snow down to the concrete in about 30 to 40 minutes. It did a beautiful job. I am 75 years old and it took very little effort to use the machine.
Evelyn Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Terry E.
Palmyra, NE
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/14/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Bang For Your Buck!
Very impressed with this snow blower, easy to use & easy to maintain.
Terry Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Lesa
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/21/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wow!!!!
Have double driveway on a hill, could not believe how well it works. LOVE it.
Lesa Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Stephen W.
Mt Washington, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/20/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Worked Great
Love the electric start. Cleaned down to the concrete and was easy to use and move around.
Stephen Recommends This Toro Product
Stephen's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Received my blower about 24 hours after placing order. Would recommend SBD."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/24/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Did A Good Job
Recevied my snowblower very quickly. It was simple to assemble and took me about 10 minutes. I got this blower a week or so before the Blizzard of 2016 in the Northeast when close to 30" of snow fell.

This machine was not made for such a snowfall, but it did preform better than expected. It was a slow go, but it did the job eventually. I am very happy with my purchase and with Snow Blowers Direct.
Pros: Easy To Store, Price, Durable, Quiet
Robert Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Andrew E.
Kennett Square, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/6/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lifesaver
This is the first snowblower that I ever owned. I purchased this 2 weeks before we got hit with 24 inches of snow. The power clear only handles up to 12.5 inches, but I went out twice during the storm to split things up. The second time I went out some of the snow drifts were easily 20 inches. In some cases, I just had to hit it, back up, then hit it again, and it seemed to do the trick.

My driveway fits about 10 cars and it took me about an hour and 15 minutes to clear it with this much... more
Andrew Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Terry B.
Worthington, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/4/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bramelt
Started on 2nd pull blew snow like a champ. Love it.
Terry Recommends This Toro Product
Terry's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to order online, and arrived when predicted."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kazue
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/1/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Product
This machine is powerful, but light to move. So it can remove snow easily and quickly.
Kazue Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kenneth D.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/19/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I love this snowblower! I have a double-wide driveway, about 40 feet long, slightly sloped. Using this machine is like mowing a lawn, but with snow, and cold. Electric start is nice, but the pull cord is easy. Have used it on about 7 inches of snow with no difficulties. It doesn't wreck your lawn if you go off the cement driveway edge. Highly recommended!
Kenneth Recommends This Toro Product
Kenneth's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Knowledgeable and friendly phone support."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Carol F.
Sauk Village, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/3/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Snow Blower Experience
I had no idea about snow blowers or what would be the best one for my boyfriend, all I knew was that I wanted to get him one for Christmas and that he needed one that didn't require him to pull a cord everytime he started it.
Carol Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Debra F.
Incline Villag, NV
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/14/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Received right before Lake Tahoe snow storm. Easy for me to put together and operate(small petite woman) I passed on my real experience to my friends!
Debra Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert L.
Westminster, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/31/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Great Machine
So far works great lots of power
Robert Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Corey B.
Lake View, IA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/13/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Running Machine
I have family and friends that have these single stage toro snow blowers and have nothing but good things to say about them. I bought one to go along with the 2 stage blower that I already have and within a few days we had around a 6 inch snow. Didn't even get the bigger blower out cause this little guy did everything that was needed to be done and worked very well.
Corey Recommends This Toro Product
Corey's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Snow Blowers Direct had a great price and had the blower here within a couple days. Nicely done."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John M.
Michigan City, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New Toro 518 Ze
Got blower in 2 days but was left on my driveway in box not by door. I work till midnight that god nobody stole it. Then they said it would be so easy to put together and would start on the 2nd pull. Not easy at all to put shoot on. You need 2 special size wrenches to use on each end and it doesn't explain that in the book. Then no cord.

Are you kidding me all that money and no cord for electric start. Then after new gas and oil it would not start on the second pull or fifth,or sixth so I... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Price
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Bad Instructions
Was this review helpful?
98
Larry M.
Silverthorne, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/18/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Damaged
The shipping company delivered it to the wrong address and did not require a signature. Fortunately, the person finding it on his porch, read the address and brought it to me since he only lived three houses away. Upon opening the box and removing the blower, the first thing I noticed was that the axle was bent and the left wheel was turned under and rubbing against the bent axle support. This prevented the wheel from turning. Called Toro for warranty repair info. They sent me to a Toro... more
Larry Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Herman R.
Upper Marlboro, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/21/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Little Machine
We don't get a lot of snow in the DC area so I did not want to get a huge expensive snow blower. This Toro snow blower was perfect for my driveway and sidewalk. I was able to clear all of it in less than forty minutes.

We only had three major accumulations during this past winter and for the amount of effort and the cost of this machine I should be good for the next eight to ten Winters.

Great product, easy to assemble and operate. If you don't have to clear a huge area this little... more
Herman Recommends This Toro Product
Herman's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have already recommended this site to two of my co-workers who already have ordered products from your site. Keep up the great work."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve M.
Bloomingdale, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Fan
I had a 4522 toro for 22 yrs still started but needed a lot of parts to get it up to snuff. Decided to to go new but down size to a lighter model.

My neighbors have been using the 518 and they work great even in the thick heavy stuff. Very happy with delivery and price from distributor
Steve Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wanda T.
Rosedale, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/23/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
Excellent Snow Blower.
Wanda Recommends This Toro Product
Wanda's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John Z.
Stephens City, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/22/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blowing Snow
Works fine !!!!! Not too good with two feet of snow but knock the drifts down and it works good.

No problems maneuvering blower in tight spaces. Nice product,light weight.

Only drawback is a little tricky filling with oil. Could be easier. Otherwise no problems.
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom S.
Buffalo, NY
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
This is the only snow blower to buy. It is the best on the market.
Tom Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger K.
Montello, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/20/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Machine
Bought it for my wife who is in her seventies, and she loves it. Says it's easy to handle and works great.
Roger Recommends This Toro Product
Roger's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service and prompt delivery. Good company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Rosemount, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/27/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Overall Seems Good - We'll See How It Goes
Overall seems like a good product. Will see how long it lasts as that will be the real true test of its quality, as well as how many repairs will need to be done over the years.
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary V.
Berea, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/15/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Shipping, Great Blower, Great Price.
Needed a mid-range blower, not too heavy. Toro is a trusted name. Blower met expectations, great for snow up to 12 inhes or so. Easy to handle, quick to assemble. Took only one day to arrive. Only issue is fuel cap is a little tricky to take off. I would rate service a 10 and blower 10.
Gary Recommends This Toro Product
Gary's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Evrything was top notch."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Barbara G.
Sparta, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/4/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Fine
Bought this item to help me in removing the snow myself. I am older, and it is difficult for me to shovel. I liked that I did not have to mix gas and oil, That was always a concern with my older snow thrower, getting the concentrations correctly.

It worked well removing both light weight snow and the heavier wetter stuff. My only concern is I can't get the gas cover off. My arthritic hands just can't get it off. Fortunately my son lives only 10 miles away and when he comes over he... more
Barbara Recommends This Toro Product
Barbara's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered online, and it was delivered in two days at no charge. All the parts were there and it was easy to put together."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brenda R.
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/21/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro 518 Ze Has Worked Fine, Easy Assembly
I ordered this snowblower in order to help us clear our long drive and not worry about my husband having to do the shoveling since my heart attack. After delivery, which was exceptionally quick from Snow Blowers Direct!

My husband assembled this with ease and he dislikes reading instructions, but did and had no problems! (We are both in our mid 60's and prime age to risk heart attacks from shoveling more than we should, so I really should have ordered a larger path clearing blower.

This... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, Durable
Brenda Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brenda R.
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/21/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro 518 Ze Has Worked Fine, Easy Assembly
I ordered this snowblower in order to help us clear our long drive and not worry about my husband having to do the shoveling since my heart attack. After delivery, which was exceptionally quick from Snow Blowers Direct!

My husband assembled this with ease and he dislikes reading instructions, but did and had no problems! (We are both in our mid 60's and prime age to risk heart attacks from shoveling more than we should, so I really should have ordered a larger path clearing blower.

This... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Price, Durable, Compact For Easy Storing And Good For Clearing Small Areas
Brenda Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce A.
St Paul, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Worked
As the orthopedist commented when asked about the effectiveness of his unusual therapy, "it can't hurt." The same applies to my recent purchase of this snow blower. When it arrived the snow essentially stopped and the thawing began.

By some means (maybe the purchase of the Toro), the snow gods stopped dusting us with snow and began thrusting heat bolts upon us. So I regard it as an essential purchase that made those snow gods turn tail and head for the arctic.

Good work... more
Bruce Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Josephine M.
Manahawkin, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/5/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Snow Yet!
Haven't had a chance to use it yet, but shipping was quick and happy with it can't wait to use it.
Josephine Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Elmer R.
Colesburg, IA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/12/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wife Loves It
works great ,would be better if rpm could be increased for heavy wet snow.
Elmer Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave B.
Casper, WY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/30/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Strong For Size
This is surprisingly strong for its size. We have had some especially wet snow this winter and this little guy throws it out there pretty far. Great for tighter areas which is the main reason i bought it.
Dave Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John F.
Rye, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/30/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far All Good!
Haven't used it much, which is actually a good thing! Like the compactness and I don't miss the fuel mix! Starts great. Many thanks!
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian H.
Brighton, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/5/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Choice
We got 18" two weeks ago and this machine handled it like a champ. It even arrived early.
Brian Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Johnson City, TN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/23/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quick Start, Easy Mobility.
This product does very well for snow under 6" but has a lot of trouble with deeper snow. It is easy to start and clears snow otherwise very easily. It cut my shoveling time tremendously.
David Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Harold H.
Arlington, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/23/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My First Experience With A Snow Blower
The purchase was easy and the delivery was seamless. I would advise customers to get a little more powerful engine. This machine was having a hard time throwing snow across the drive way even though there was only 4 inches.
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary A.
Alexandria, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/24/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Machine
Very nice snow blower for the money. Only used once, but it did a great job!
Gary Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Alexandria, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/23/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine.
Ordered this snowblower after getting 22 inches of snow in January and getting really tired of shoveling snow. We received 4 inches last night and I fired it up this afternoon. I got the electric start and it started on the second attempt.

The blower handled 4 inches pretty easily. My only recommendation would be to add a self propelled feature which the larger models have. I'm pleased so far and look forward to continued use.
James Recommends This Toro Product
James's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website was easy to use and allowed me to research all products. Order arrived two days after I ordered. Really pleased by the website and prompt delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim A.
Roanoke, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/22/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Clearing Snow Just Got A Lot Easier.
I purchased the Toro Power Clear 518 after seeing how easy it was for my brother using the same model to clear his driveway. Last night into today, our area received a 9 inch snowfall and I was able to use my own snow blower.

It worked just as advertised clearing my driveway and front sidewalk quickly and without the backbreaking effort required by shoveling. I would recommend this model to anyone who hates to shovel snow.
Tim Recommends This Toro Product
Tim's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I received the product only a couple of days after placing the order. The price was very reasonable considering the effort saved."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric
Falls Church, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/19/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Snowblower
My snowblower arrived the morning before a 24"+ snowstorm. It performed to my expectations, and to my neighbors expectations as well. Could not have imagined dealing with all that snow without one. Two of my neighbors have since bought the same one. It started right up and since it uses regular fuel, it is easy to maintain and operate.
Eric Recommends This Toro Product
Eric's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered my snowblower on a Tuesday evening, and FedEx delivered Friday morning, before 24"+ of snow fell. I recommended snowblowers direct to all my neighbors and two of them have since made purchases."
 more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Eric,
Thank you for the good words. We appreciate your feedback, and it's great to hear that we've served you well.
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas T.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/6/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Works great my 87 year old dc dad can start it very easily and is easy to push.
Thomas Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph A.
Daleville, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/17/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than I Expected
I have a bad back and my snow shoveler went to college this year so I was in the market. The toro looked promising and cost less than others we looked at. Two days after it was delivered we had a foot of snow. I took it slow and steady and the toro cleared my 75 foot driveway in no time. Great investment.
Joseph Recommends This Toro Product
Joseph's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"All around great experience. Already told my brother and he now is a customer as well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Plymouth, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/29/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Many Years A Toro Buyer
I love the new Toro 518ZE. Primarily because I paid about $75.00 less than the retail store near my home. Everything works fine. We've just been through two snow storms and it cleans very well.
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael C.
Brooklyn, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/10/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Life Saver
Got it just in time to bstyle winter storm Jonas and the 30 inches of store it dumped on NY. Took 2 passes to get down to pavement, but a heck of a lot better than having to shovel. Loved that I could direct the snow exactly where I wanted it to go.
Michael Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kris M.
Ogden, UT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/17/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
The snow blower does a great job. Definitely worth the money. I would buy again and I recommended the product to my Dad. Which is going to be purchasing. I love the electronic start.

The only thing, my pull handle broke after the second pull and the plastic where the pull handle is has made burn marks in the plastic. I still love my snow blower. I would recommend a stronger plastic handle along with a metal ring around where the pull handle goes.
Kris Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ernie S.
Sterling Heights, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/31/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
I received an e-mail on Monday morning that my snowblower was sent. I received it Tuesday afternoon. It only took 30 minutes to put together an two pulls on the rope when it started. Can't wait ( yes I can) to use it.
Ernie Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
11
James K.
Bellevue, NE
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/14/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy!!!
Easy purchase, easy to assemble, easy to start....ready for the snow to fall,
James Recommends This Toro Product
James's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Easy purchase and shipped to my front porch!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
James L.
Ft Waynne, IN
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Clogged Wheels
Purchased second Toro 518ZE. Loved first one, hate this one. Wheel clogging problem is horrible. Snow freezes on the wheel that tracks in the cleared area and prevents wheel from turning. When not locked up, rolls bumpy due to chunks stuck to wheel. Makes it impossible to clean surface well. Thinking of using it for a boat anchor this summer.
Was this review helpful?
12
John M.
North Andover, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/26/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Problem
I was excited to purchase this item only to become agitated when I could not start this item after three times. I have it in for service right now only to hear, OH you bought it online.
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
45
Richard O.
Northglenn, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/27/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Need A Power Cord
Ordering was good. I received it on time, opened it, put it together with little effort, but then I didn't know you have to buy a power cord separately. The ad says electric start, so I thought it was included, but no. So now I have to order that and pay for shipping. Nowhere does it say cord not in included.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Packaging
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
We're sorry you feel misled. That was not our intention. You only need to use an extension cord to plug it in for the electric start. You don't need a specific brand or model of extension cord for this. Once the engine's started, you can unplug it and go.

This is not a battery-powered snow blower or an electric snow blower, it's a gas-powered 4-cycle single-stage snow blower. The electric start feature is there so you don't have to pull-start it via the recoil.
more
Was this review helpful?
6719
Steve
Old Saybrook, CT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/7/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Punches Above Its Weight
After a 20 in snow storm the 518 was put to the test. Started easily and with careful operation moved consistently through the snow. This machine is obviously not designed for snow this deep however once a pass was made I was able to take smaller passes and it handled it really well for its size. Small enough to throw in the back of your truck, big enough to get through 20 in of fresh snow...very nice machine.
Steve Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
323
Bob B.
Bangor, ME
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/5/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simplicity And Lightweight
I bought the Toro 18" for my daughter and son-in-law who only needed to clear their 75' driveway. Received the box after a few days and loaded it in the SUV to deliver to their house.

We followed the directions and assembled it in a few minutes. We put the oil in, which was supplied, and added fresh gas. We started it right up. The electric start feature is great!

Some may question the small size, but when you think of a wife blowing snow, this a 67 lb. snow blower is easy to... more
Bob Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
291
Ramona Z.
Winona, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/9/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Want A Snow Blower In A Hurry...!..?
I may live fairly close to the warehouse from which my snow blower was shipped?.. Regardless of that, I ordered my blower it was here, 3rd day!!! Fast service. It was ready for use after attaching the handle and putting the supplied oil in the blower. It is a small blower and does a good job, great for sidewalks or driveway.
Ramona Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
272
Garry C.
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/9/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Small Snowthrower
Had a Toro CCR 2000 E for twenty years and that snowthrower was fantastic, but finally gave up the ghost. Ordered this model on a Friday and it was delivered on Monday.

Set up was as easy as stated and it started right up on the second pull with the cord. Just had approximately 19 inches of snow here in the Northern Illinois area and this small snowthrower is as amazing as my old Toro.

It will throw much more snow than anyone would think considering the modest size, but if you just... more
Garry Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
243
Michele D.
Philadelphia, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Snow Blower For Me
I am a lady 5' 5. I was intimidated in getting a snow blower. Let me tell you, it was easy to assemble, put the chute on, put the handle bars on, put the oil and gas in, that's it.

I plugged it in to the extension cord and off I went. I am so thankful I didn't have to manually shovel that heavy wet snow. This machine did a great job. Wish I would have bought one sooner!
Pros: Easy To Store, Price, High Quality, Efficient
Michele Recommends This Toro Product
Michele's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Lots of articles to help you decide which snowblower is right for you. Loved the videos too. Shipping was on time. Would definitely recommend to a friend!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
182
Susan D.
Penn Yan, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/15/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Broke In 10 Minutes
Gave as a gift. Broke in 10 minutes. Paddles started digging in ground and broke. Would like my money back! I wouldn't recommend this brand.
Cons: Low Quality
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Susan,
We are sorry to hear of the issue with your snow blower. You have to keep in mind the paddles will make contact with the sidewalk/driveway to give the snow blower a self propelled effect. When moving the snow blower you will want to make sure to disengage the paddles by releasing the bail on the handle. We would very much like to learn more about the issues you or the person using the machine is having and will have our product expert Joe give you a call shortly. If for any reason you need to contact us as well, please feel free to call 800-710-7499.
more
Was this review helpful?
2913
Daphne A.
Amarillo, TX
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/14/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Snow Blower!
I finally got to try my snow blower and now I wonder why I didn't purchase one sooner! I am a 5'1 female and wasn't sure if I could handle a snow blower.

It was easy to start, easy to manuver and performed like a Toro should. I would recommend this snow blower to anyone for small to medium jobs.
Daphne Recommends This Toro Product
Daphne's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My first time to order from you. Thank you for making it so easy! It was a great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
133
Jim A.
Parker, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/11/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Horsepower
This snowblower does not have enough horsepower to clear about 10" of snow on a uphill grade.

It continued to bog down and almost shut off. I like it overall on the level surfaces and it starts real easy.
Jim Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
123
Raymond L.
East Brunswick, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Snowblower!
Today was the first day I used it on 6" of snow that fell the night before. The blower started up in 2 pulls. It's compact, powerful and easy to move around.

I really like it a lot over my electric blower, which is a hassle to deal with tripping over the cord. And over my 2 stage blower that was too heavy to move around.

I cleared my driveway and walkway in no time. I cant wait for the next snowfall to use it again! I highly recommend this machine!
Raymond Recommends This Toro Product
Raymond's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to order online and delivered on time!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Robert W.
Spring Grove, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/19/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
They Came A Long Way
Easy to start and easy to use. Smooth running machine that throws water and slush. Best money to spend unless you like to shovel.
Robert Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Elizabeth S.
Elyria, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Terrible
If you live in California and do not get any snow, this is the blower for you! It is hard to start and if you get more than an inch of snow it works poorly. It would be quicker to shovel!
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Elizabeth,
I am sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with the Toro snow blower you have purchased. We have not had past issues regarding the unit not working properly with lighter snow. The unit is not designed to handle the heavy, compact or large amounts of snow but rather the lighter snow in manageable amounts. If the unit is still giving you issues, I would recommend contacting Toro at (888) 384-9939 for troubleshooting assistance or a local service center in your area.

Thank you for your review.
more
Was this review helpful?
138
Chandrasekar G.
Rochester, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/12/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro Power Clear 518 Ze
This is a very good tool. I enjoyed doing the 12 inch snow yesterday.

One Issue I found is this screw that connects the chute to the body is very loose and the chute is falling off. And I have add couple of washers to tighten it.

Overall, performance is good.
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Chandrasekar Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Stuart Handler
Dover, DC
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/9/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Snow Blower
I had a Toro years ago and it was superb. When we moved I thought I would need a bigger unit and sold my Toro. After a few seasons I realized the new one was to big for my needs and I sold it and purchased this new Toro 518ze. We just had our first snow and I got to use and it was terrific. Started right up and was easy to maneuver.

Must say the service from Snow Blowers Direct was superb. Not only was it in stock but I had it in a few days!
Stuart Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Sarah S.
Parchment, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/19/14
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy To Handle, Powerful Snowblower
I used this snow blower at least a dozen times this winter in both wet and dry snow that was anywhere from 3-4 inches to 12 inches deep. In all cases it performed well--blew the snow well off the driveway. The deeper the snow, the narrower the path I attempted to clear. I am a small woman (5 ft, 100 lbs) and was concerned about the weight of the machine being too much for me to handle. This was not true. The self-propelled action made it very easy to handle and guide through the snow... more
Sarah Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Marcia S.
Waterbury, CT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/5/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Investment!
This is definitely the winter to end all! After attempting to shovel the "cement" that fell out of the sky, I decided to buy a snow blower. It had to be something that I could handle easily and I found exactly that in my Toro 518ZE. This blower has saved me on several occasions. It is light weight, easy to handle and does a great job. Start up is a snap! Snow Blowers Direct delivered the blower quickly and I feel confident that, should I have any questions, they will be ready to... more
Marcia Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Priscilla G.
Londonderry, NH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My Toro Snow Blower
It handles very easy -it has a backup electric starter. I have not had any problems starting it. It maneuvers very easy, takes the snow right down to pavement. Hardly uses any gas at all. I would recommend this to anyone. My son in law is 6 ft and he purchased one and he loves his too. So it doesn't matter your height or weight, it is easy to move the snow. Very happy with the delivery as well -prompt and in excellent condition.
Priscilla Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Richard S.
Clinton Township, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Snowblower
Always have bought Toro and this one is as I thought it would be, very dependable, starts right up, does a great job of clearing the snow.
Richard Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Diane G.
Chicago, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/16/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mighty Fine Machine
Big mouth, does heavier snow OK, electric push button start works great, doesn't feel anything like 60 lbs. When in use (I am an old lady), and the instruction book is thorough and concise and OK for newbies like me.
Diane Recommends This Toro Product
Diane's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I appreciated the Snow Blowers Direct product ratings and the amount of detail provided about the products. I'm very sure I got the best snow blower for me! And for my neighbor, too, who is impressed by it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
John S.
Emporium, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/13/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Totally Satisfied With This Machine
The Toro Power Clear 518 ZE has worked very well for me. We don't get a lot of snow at one time, usually in the 2" to 5" range, and it has worked well. It does not work quite as well when encountering the piles of snow left by the snowplows but as this snow is usually packed, deeper, and sometimes wet from an accumulation of salt I don't expect it to.

Using the machine with a narrower swath is still much easier than moving the snow with a shovel. I also have a small leak in the... more
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Donald G.
Oakmont, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/7/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Snow Blower
Works as advertised. Wouldn't own any other.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Donald Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
51
George K.
Belleville, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 18in
I used to work at a college in Wisconsin and if any of you know about Wisconsin it snows here... A lot...so at the college we had the Toro 21in snow blowers and we as a snow removal crew were able to clear sidewalks and other areas quickly in between classes so the students were able to walk safely to their next class. I knew that when I were to finally buy a snowblower for myself it would have to be a Toro... I decided to get the 18in because I don't need as much power as I did at the... more
George Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Kay M.
Mayville, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/26/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Good
Shipped on time. Box not damaged.

Filled with gas and it leaked on our painted garage floor.

Of course took the paint right off. Called local Toro dealer and they would fix it for a $25 fee. Called Snow Blowers Direct and they said to take it up with Toro.

Called another dealer and they would fix it without a fee.

Drove 25 miles dropped it off, drove another 25 to pick it up, said it was some dirt in the somewhere. Got it home still leaked. Call the dealer said bring it in. ... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Kay,
Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you had issues with the product. All products we sell have warranties so if ever their was an issue it will be covered under warranty. The first place you called should have fixed it and not charged you a penny but some dealers play hard ball with internet purchases even though we are Toro dealer no different from them. Again we do apologize and are sorry you feel the way you do. The issue should have been handled differently than the way it was. If there is something we can do, please let us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
95
Jen G.
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/28/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Snow Blower
This is our first snow blower. It works very well and handled over 6" of snow easily. The fuel tank lasted all winter (and we had a bad winter in New York with a lot of snow). It is well-made, sturdy, lightweight and fits well in our single car garage.

We even put it in the back of our minivan and brought it to my mom's to take care of her walkway. If I were purchasing again, I would definitely spend the extra money for the Quick Chute.

This is an investment purchase and it is... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Cons: Missing Quick Chute Feature
Jen's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I already recommended this site to my cousin. Excellent knowledgeable customer support. Snow blower arrived quickly (within a day or so of placing the order). I would definitely purchase again from this site!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Harold H.
Glenwillow, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/8/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Ready For Use
Received a fast delivery, unfortunately it was not ready for use. It came with a defective spark plug according to the local authorized dealer. Once changed, it worked fine.
Harold Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Matthew
Avon, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Snow Blower
I have only used this once so far but it was great. Easy to pull start! The size is perfect for a normal 2 car driveway. My 3 car driveway took about 12 minutes. The best part is that it doesn't take up much space in the garage. I'm 1 in a group of 5 friends that own these and we all love this snow blower.
Matthew Recommends This Toro Product
Matthew's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped the same day!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Cameron M.
Madisonville, KY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/6/15
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cameron's L'il Work Horse
Buy the time I decided to get a Snow Blower Winter was almost over, but just days before I got it it Snowed another foot or more. I had been stranded in my own drive way twice during the Winter from some of the heaviest Snow I had experienced here in Western Kentucky.

Only got to use it once on the last Snow fall here, but it worked like a gift from Heaven. Plowed the drive way, my deck and parts of my neighbors walkway and drive. Have to say for the price, it is priceless. I can tackle the... more
Cameron Recommends This Toro Product
Cameron's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Worked like a charm."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Karen W.
Durham, ME
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/17/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
My husband had been putting off buying a snow blower for a few years now.
I decided to see what I could find online with free shipping. I went to numerous sites and the ones that we could afford were all out of stock even for store pick up.

I came across Snow Blowers Direct and I found exactly what we could afford and needed for our driveway and walking paths.
I put the order in and we received it in just a few days. I know where I'll be shopping from now on.

I wasted too much time on... more
Karen Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Karl S.
Paramus, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/17/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow - Lots Of Snow
In NJ, I didn't have this Toro 1 day before it went to work with all of our snow that we got. It performed better than I ever expected. It was my best purchase for the year.

I not only got a great machine - I got it from the best supplier: SNOW BLOWER DIRECT. They were very nice and helpful, and it came to me so fast.
Karl Recommends This Toro Product
Karl's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"SNOW BLOWERS DIRECT AND MOWERS DIRECT ARE THE BEST ONLINE STORES I'VE EVER USED. WHEN YOU'RE ORDERING EQUIPMENT THIS LARGE, YOU NEED THE EXPERTISE THEY GIVE YOU."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Salvatore S,
Enfield, CT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/8/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Powerful Little Machine
I had a clunky and heavy, "elderly" Craftsman blower, that in recent times and the crazy New England snow, had been working Subpar. Out of frustration for this previous machine and hatred towards my shovel, I needed a better option. My parents have a 20 plus year old TORO, that has always worked like a dream. With more snow on the horizon and much research nearly every store was sold out of items. We happened across this website that had the newer version of what I was familiar... more
Salvatore Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Charles P.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/8/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snowman
I purchased the Toro 518ZE snow blower & it was the best purchase. It has an electric start but I find that pull start is so easy that I don't use the electric start. It will move snow great even the heavy stuff if you take your time. This was the best investment I have ever made. Recommended this snow blower to others and SNOW BLOWERS DIRECT is the place to buy, very fast shipping.
Charles Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Barbara T.
Sturbridge, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Easy To Use
My wife bought this for me after my electric stopped working. So easy to put together and started on first pull. After the winter we've had here in Massachusetts this was a life saver. Works best in any storm 8 inches or less. I love this machine. Thank you.
Barbara Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul G.
East Amherst, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lost In Buffalo
My old Toro went after 16 years during the worst winters in Buffalo. I need a new snow blower fast. I ordered the new one and received it in 3 days with free shipping. It's a little smaller than my old one but does fine in 6-7 inches of snow. Gets bogged down a little with the heavier snow at the end of the driveway from the plows but it works very well and does the job. Very satisfied with the value.
Paul Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Glenn H.
Overland Park, KS
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/26/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Sno Blower Evaluation
I used the new snow blower for the first time today, Feb. 16, 2015. Overall, the operation was okay. The blower started with 3 pulls of the cord, ran fine, and I cleared the driveway and sidewalk.

My only disappointment was that the snow was not thrown very far from the blower. I did adjust the chute angle, but that didn't seem to help. Is there another option to try?
Glenn Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert T W.
Norway, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/26/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Toro Snowthrower
Super fast delivery, received it in three days.

Easy to assemble, just took minutes. I read the manual of instructions and the procedures on safety.

I was very surprised how it cleared the snow down to the surface and how far the snow was thrown. I use it to clear my large deck which I had been shoveling the past years. I cleared it in less than 15 minutes.

Why did I buy a TORO? I owned a larger TORO before and had no problem selling it when we moved here. The TORO name means... more
Robert Recommends This Toro Product
Robert's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very reasonable price and fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Douglas K.
De Forest, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/20/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Do It!
This purchase was a great experience. It arrived on the delivery date, as promised.

Assembly was very easy and took less than 15 minutes to unpack & have running.

I purchased snow blower for our cabin in the north which is located over 1/2 mile back in the woods.
Douglas Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Larry H.
Vernon Hills, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/15/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Devlivery Great
Have not used it yet but I was amazed at the time it took to get., just one day. I am sure it will work great. Only disappointment there was no power cord included. I had one but some people may not.
Larry Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Gordon Ramsay
Marlborough, CT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/25/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ideal Machine
Needed a light machine to do my walkways. This is the ideal one as it is light to lift up the steps but blows like a heavy duty one.just lift slightly on the handle and it walks itself into the snow. Love it.
Gordon Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Brent R.
Fall River, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/14/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Little Blower That Could!
This blower is phenomenal. It cuts through everything mother nature can throw at it, and fast.

I can do my yard in 1/4 of the time it takes with my 2-stage blower. Starts as promised with 1 to 2 pulls.

Buy this little guy with confidence. You will be super happy.
Brent Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Nannette K.
Channahon, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/10/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Oh No! No Snow!
Assembly was relatively easy. The only issue was the control cable. Either the instructions were not very clear or it was just me. Finally figured it out.

I wish I could tell you about the Toro Power Clear, but after the machine was delivered we haven't had much snow to speak of. May have to wait until next season. So I will be doing my snow dance.

I decided to go with the smaller machine since being a woman it would be easier for me to handle.
Nannette Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/6/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good For Sidewalks And Very Small Driveways
Fairly underpowered for big jobs. The blades are much smaller than my previous Toro. I would not buy this model again for a double driveway.
Pros: Easy To Store, 4 Cycle
Cons: Small Blade Depth, Underpowered For Large Drives
Was this review helpful?
65
Joseph V.
Mantua, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/22/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Delivery And Service
I ordered and received! This was great, no problems, got my order in just a few days and it was in perfect condition. Easy to assemble and ready to go. I am happy with the service. The snow hasn't fallen yet, but I know it will perform as advertised.
Joseph Recommends This Toro Product
Joseph's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best service and delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
98
Mary N.
Dix Hills, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mary
Love it. So easy to use.
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Mary Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sally Miller
Ronkonkoma, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/17/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Entry-level Snow Blower
I purchased this for my husband as a Christmas gift. I was a little nervous about making this purchase without his input, but I wanted to surprise him so I did some research and settled on this model. I didn't have a lot to spend so my options were limited, but we are both happy with this model.

It's great for moderate amounts of snow, say up to 8-10 inches. My husband started it manually with no problem, but I used the electric start feature and it was really easy. It is not self... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Price, Electric Start
Sally Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Bernard G.
Beaver Falls, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/13/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Great customer service
Bernard Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Carlos S.
New Britain, CT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/31/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice
Good - very happy now.
Carlos Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Paul S.
Brooklyn, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snowblower
Excellent. Love it!
Paul Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Robert D.
Willow Grove, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/25/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Miracle Blower
This snow blower is more than I could ever have imagined. It hasn't snowed since it arrived. I love it!
Robert Recommends This Toro Product
Robert's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Professional to the end"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Carl C.
Romeoville, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/2/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Blower Purchase
It was a great experience, especially when I went to pick it up at the warehouse. The guy in charge made me feel important as a customer. Great experience.
Carl Recommends This Toro Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Carl,
We were happy to help you out! Thank you for the wonderful review.
more
Was this review helpful?
1122
Stephen Noye
Eastchester, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought As A Gift.
Our son and daughter in law bought a new home, so of course we felt they needed a snow blower, given our past winters. As a birthday gift in July, 2014 we bought it. It shipped in no time and was packed beautifully. Storage not an issue not bulky at all and looks great. To date, being September, 2014 we have not had snow for it to be used. Can't wait to hear how they like it and will keep status posted. To be continued......
Pros: Price
Stephen Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
1842
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 38473 gas single stage snow blower reviews.Compare our Toro 518 ZE ratings. Find the Toro 38473 gas single stage snow blower that is right for you.