Your Cart @ Snow Blowers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Toro 721 R Gas Single Stage Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$499.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$499.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 38741 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Store (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Price (2)
Light Weight (1)
High Quality (1)
Cons
None to display.
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
35 Reviews  Sort by 
 
James S.
Waukee, IA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/19/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I just fired up my new Toro snow blower yesterday. We had 6.3 inches on the ground, and about an inch of that was slush. It started right up, and was very quiet compared to my old one.

Very clean running, with no unpleasant exhaust fumes. It went through the snow all the way to the pavement, and threw it as far as I needed it to. A very easy machine to operate. I an very pleased with this purchase.
James Recommends This Toro Product
James's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I am pleased with whole process. Ease of ordering, getting free shipping, and having it delivered right to my back door! Plus even though I have only used the machine once, I think it is a very well made machine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Andrew H.
Haddonfield, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/18/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Got Scratched In Shipment
The blower had abrasions on the top from the shipping box. Considering the size and weight, I choose to not send it back. Purchasing locally has advantages.
Andrew Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
87
Michael H.
Spring City, UT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/14/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Purchase
My old Toro single stage was purchased in1986 and finally died. Too old to fix so I bought this one. I can't believe it actually started on the first out right out of the box. Lots of power, no mixing of fuel. I'm Happy
Michael Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Michael S.
Highland, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/16/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well
Bought in Nov. of this year. Our first measurable snow came this month. Works great, starts right off.
Michael Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Jose M.
Woodbridge, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/30/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
I said after the big snow storm we got in Feb 2016 that I was not going to shovel anymore storm. I did the research on single stage snow blowers and I am very pleased with the purchase I made.

I was only able to use it 1 time since getting it but it worked like a champ. Easy to use and no mixing of gas and oil.
Jose Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael
Mooresville, NC
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/31/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Use In 8" Of Wet Snow!
Was not sure what to expect but it did a great job...cleans all the way to the asphalt...
Michael Recommends This Toro Product
Michael's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery exactly as promised...no problems!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joan D.
Hollis, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/23/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Toro
Last year my 18" Toro died never to be repaired - it was 15 years old. I decided to get a new one after a 30" snow fall with 4 plus foot drifts. It starts easily and is very powerful. I have recommended it.
Joan Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Joceline G.
Mountain Green, UT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/18/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fabulous Price And Excellent Machine
We love our Toro Snow Blower. It's been a lifesaver during this heavy snow fall.
Joceline Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Tom T.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/27/15
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro
Bought this for my dad, it has tackled every storm this year, even the wet snows
Tom Recommends This Toro Product
Tom's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald K.
Wellesley, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
I researched the 721 R ahead of time, so I knew exactly what I wanted. I even talked with Toro about storage issues with many people having trouble by not taking extra care with the new EPA requirements.
Pros: Features, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Donald Recommends This Toro Product
Donald's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I first thought it would be best to by locally at the end of season, but the dealer insisted on list price. I was a bit hesitant to purchase something this heavy by mail, in case I ran into any problems. I looked at reviews from other customers and spoke with a representative about any concerns I had. They were extremely helpful. The snow blower arrived on time, in perfect condition and I saved well over $150."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith B.
Cleveland Heights, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Snow Blower
Easy to assemble...easy to start...powerful and lightweight.
Keith Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jason N.
Marriottsville, MD
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
1st Try. Epic Fail
This is my second toro snowblower. 1stvonebpower clear 180 gave out because bad carb. I preferred this one based on feedback and reviews. We had 4-5 inches so I tried it out. Started without a problem. Used it for grand total of 2 min. Start smelling rubber burning and the auger stopped.

Damn the belt dessintigrated. I was like what?!? Hit nothing called toro no help other than giving service place. Called snowblower direct they don't carry belt so could send me one. Went to HD... more
Jason Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Jason,
I apologize for the issues you have experienced regarding the snow blower belt. If this is a reoccurring issue it should be covered under the warranty. I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused but appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles E.
Centennial, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/22/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power And Then Some!
This Toro was purchased to replaced one I have used for over a decade. The main reason for the new Toro was to increase the snow moving capacity from 18" to 21". What a difference three inches make!

We had an 11" snow fall only two days after the arrival of the new machine and it performed marvelously and power was was amazing! It pulled me along right through the piled up snow with no problems all I could do to keep up. Would definitely make this purchase again!
Charles Recommends This Toro Product
Charles's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy ordering. Web site had several different brands and products to choose from with sufficient information on each machine. Knew I wanted a Toro or Honda so this made selection easy. Shipment arrived on time and in good condition. Easy to assemble."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Harold S.
Thornton, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/5/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Have had 2 snows since getting the SNOW BLOWER. Both around 8 - 10 ". I have a 3 car garage so a wide driveway (3 lanes) about 30' wide and 40' long plus a sidewalk about 90' long.

The unit started quickly and cleared the snow about as quickly as you could mow a lawn of equal size. The unit pulls itself so there was no pushing. Simple controls. I am very happy with the TORO and believe it was well worth the cost.
Harold Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas T.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/27/15
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
This machine is great works perfectly every time
Thomas Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Geral L.
Setauket, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Power Clear 721 R
I am very happy with the toro power clear 721 r.
Geral Recommends This Toro Product
Geral's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"very responsive"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom H.
Whitestone, NY
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Blows - In A Good Way!
I've used a variety of different snowblowers, from single stage to the big stuff and this is hands down the best of the bunch as far as ease of use and portability.

I used it in the latest blizzard in NYC and it took care of nearly 30 inches of snow without any issues.

Electric start is purely a luxury as this started with one pull after sitting all summer with the same gas in it from last winter.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Tom Recommends This Toro Product
Tom's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company to do business with. Would not hesitate to use them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald H.
White Bear Lake, MN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Capable
Works much faster than my old track driven 2 stage snow blower that I bought in 1991. I can clear my driveway in less than half the time that it took me with the old machine. This machine is lightweight, and very capable.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, High Quality, Easy To Store
Donald Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Don C.
Appleton, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/26/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Awful Big
Have not used it yet, but it sure is BIG. Hope it has power proportional to its size.
Don Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Olivier
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worthwhile Purchase
I bought the unit as a replacement for an older 18inch Toro and had the option to use if during this past NE Blizzard. It was no comparison. Much more powerful. Good throwing distance and much easier to maneuver than my old unit. Made clearing my uphill driveway a very easy task. Even left me with plenty time to spare to clear out the neighbor's driveway. Definitively can recommend for an average sized driveway without hesitation.
Olivier Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
-10
Michael M.
Memphis, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/8/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Rain
Now all we need is some snow to go with it instead of 4" of rain.
Michael Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
01
John M.
Sellersburg, IN
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/23/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My Toro Snowblower Arrived As Stated
Pleased with Snow Blowers Direct and the blower setting in my garage waiting for what ever comes.
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Jennifer S.
Berkley, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/12/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'm In Love
I got this snow blower last week & just got to use it after we got 15" of snow in one night. The snow blower was easy to assemble (you need a screwdriver and either a wrench or socket set to put on the spout), and straightforward to use. Recommend checking that your lawnmower gas can still has gas BEFORE the big snow comes!

This blower can throw the snow super far, or to avoid that, you can adjust the spout angle. The spout also has 270 rotation, so you can avoid throwing snow... more
Jennifer Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
263
Victor G.
North Caldwell, NJ
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than I Hoped
I am very happy with this snow blower. It has handled the many NJ storms of 3-6 inches this winter no problem for my 100 foot driveway. But they were all fluffy snows, and I was waiting to see how it would handle a heavy, wet snow before reviewing it. I've been told the single stage wouldn't handle that wet stuff and would jam up.

But today we got it. It rained all day yesterday and then the snow came on top, and not very cold. About 3-4 inches. But the snow blower plowed through it without... more
Victor Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
161
Bill S.
Streamwood, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/11/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Toro
Had a 24" Ariens 2-stage. Did a great job, but getting hard to handle. Used my Toro and worked like a champ. Not worn out after snow blowing. An excellent machine.
Bill Recommends This Toro Product
Bill's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"EXCELLENT BUYING EXPERIENCE"
 more
Was this review helpful?
132
Jamie G.
Port Wing, WI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/23/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking For Advice
I like my new snow blower, but the blade reaches down too far, making it hard to clean the uneven surfaces around me without tearing up the ground. Is there a way to raise the blade so it can be a little forgiving on the terrain?
Jamie Recommends This Toro Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Jamie,
Single-stage snow throwers aren't designed for use over rough terrain. They are designed to clear to the surface and remove as much snow and slush from smooth pavement as possible.

For rough terrain, we advise using a two-stage or three-stage snow blower. Their augers are raised off of the ground for gravel and uneven pavement, but they also don't clear all the way to the pavement, so a small amount of snow may be left behind.

If you need more help, you can give us a call at 1 (888) 317-7669.
more
Was this review helpful?
143
Jersey J.
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/10/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Impressed With Customer Service
Ordered on 11-9-14 received on 11-12-14.
it took 30 minutes from opening to operational. Seems well constructed, just like their lawn equipment which is the best i've used. Snow will be the test, none yet in new jersey.

Customer service was contacted (todd), answered all q & a in a very professional manner as well as saving me some money on a more expensive model as well as tax and delivery.

I recommend Snow Blowers Direct before going to home depot or loews.
Jersey Recommends This Toro Product
Jersey's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE, GREAT PRICE"
 more
Was this review helpful?
209
Mike R.
Cassopolis, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/16/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice!!!
This replaced a 10 year old Toro 2 cycle. It's about 10 pounds heavier but doesn't go ring a ding ding. Much quieter. Seems to kick more snow back under the machine than the older one.

May have something to do with the scraper bar being spring loaded rather than stationary. Unit pulls forward more, which is both good and bad. Hard to keep up with it in light snow.

Really like it!
Mike Recommends This Toro Product
Mike's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Couldn't believe how quickly it got here. Ordered Tuesday afternoon and got it the next day before noon, with your normal free shipping. Was delivered to my front porch in good condition. Didn't know FedEx would deliver something this heavy (93 lbs.)."
 more
Was this review helpful?
122
Brian Hall
Dix Hills, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome!!!
Everything was sold out locally here in NY. I ordered online from snowblowersdirect.com after I did a Google search.

The snow blower came in 2 days. Did exactly what it was supposed to do, with ease. Very simple to use, and very easy assembly.
Brian Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
70
John M.
Tinley Park, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/28/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent...
...end to end. Product works great and SBD is great to work with!
John Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Ronald B.
Kalamazoo, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/19/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Arrived twenty four hours after I oredered it. Simple to install handle then ready to go. First use was a 17 inch snowfall and it plowed right through it. Love it!
Ronald Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Kenneth N.
Jackson, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/10/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Power Clear 212cc 4 Cycle
We ordered our Toro on a Sunday, and it was delivered on Tuesday. Yep, two days later. Awesome customer service, quick delivery. Excellent packaging and delivered with care.

Our old snow thrower (Toro) was over 20 years old and our new one promises the same dependability and strength.
We are very happy with this product, and with the customer service. We will definitely shop again with Power Equipment Direct.
Kenneth Recommends This Toro Product
Kenneth's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick deliver. Excellent customer service. We will definitely shop here again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Aaron B.
Woodland Park, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/9/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Aaron
Got the meachine a few weeks ago. The delivery was what they said. I was happy on that. Used the meachine this week in about 3 inchs of very wet snow an work great.

The only complaint I have is it's hard to put the oil in it . But other wise it was easy to put together. I was very happy with it!!!
Aaron Recommends This Toro Product
Aaron's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
159
Tim
Muskegon, MI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 7/23/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Power Clear Model #: 38741
A co-worker referred me to your web site, and I'm glad he did. I purchased the Toro in July of 2014. The machine is everything they said it would be!!!!! The brand speaks for itself. Thank you very much!!!
Tim Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
83
Henry M.
Cedar Grove, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/8/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wheels
What is up with Toro? Can we put larger wheels on snow blowers. My Toro lawn mower has larger wheels than my snow blower . The blower works fine, like all Toro products, but lets put larger wheels on snow blowers please ....
Henry Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
117
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 38741 gas single stage snow blower reviews.Compare our Toro 721 R ratings. Find the Toro 38741 gas single stage snow blower that is right for you.