Free Shipping On Snow Blowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Snow Blowers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet 3524SWE Three Stage Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Cub Cadet 3524SWE Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 5
Pros
Features (10)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Easy To Use (4)
Reliable (4)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Cons
Expensive (4)
Heavy (3)
Bad Instructions (3)
Durability (2)
Difficult To Use (2)
71% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
24 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Albert L.
Bedford, WY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/17/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job
This was my first snowblower, so I have no experience with a two stage; but this is impressive in deep snow. Easily plowed through 11 inches of moderately wet snow this morning (Jan 11) and cleaned my 30 x 100 foot driveway in about 30 minutes. My main complaint is the slow reverse. It takes forever to back it up.

There are portions of the driveway that I blow 15 feet and would make things go faster if it was faster in reverse. But it has never clogged. One thing - don't buy the shear... more
Pros: Features, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Albert Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Dan D.
Wilbraham, MA
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
3 Stage Blowers A Failure
both reverse gears too slow to be used, I'd rather pull the thing back. headlight shines into chute, not that great here in Massachusetts when it comes to the end of the driveway.

Barely spits it over the bank. 3 stage system leaves snow every time you stop you get a pile in front, shears pins like crazy, sometimes just from crusty chunky snow and if you shear the BACK auger pin, it's an utter nightmare to replace, you'll see.

I just got my old toro snowblower back and I'm going to get... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Difficult To Use, Durability, shears too many pins
Dan Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dan,
Shear pins are meant to shear or break by design and are used throughout the industry. These pins prevent major damage to other components of the snow thrower, such as the gearbox and/or augers, when the augers come into contact with objects such as large ice chunks, rocks, curbs, or even a frozen newspaper left in the driveway. Such direct contact and serious impact by the augers would cause major damage to vital components if a shear pin was not used. Extra shear pins are included with the snow thrower as there is an understanding you will need to replace them from time to time. The best way to prevent breaking a shear pin is to be sure you have removed all objects such as doormats, newspapers, and even dog chains before clearing your driveway or walkway. Also, be on the lookout and avoid large landscaping rocks, tall curbs, or even large ice chunks as contact with these objects will cause you to break your shear pins.
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Barbara B.
Ilion, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/14/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Product
The snow blower works great and I like using it.
Pros: Features, Reliable, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
Barbara Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Barbara's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had a great experience ordering from Snow Blowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael W.
Holmdel, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/9/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Blowers Direct Delivered The Item Within One Week
Delivered within one week. No problems.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Michael's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good experience buy-in from Snowblower direct!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Duane M.
Sterling, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/23/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
This Is An Experience I Won't Repeat.
First, let me say that I paid the $50.00 extra for a truck with a lift-gate to deliver the snow-thrower, since I had no one to help me lift it off the truck. The driver told me while he was at my house that they don't charge extra for a lift-gate it's part of the deal - I guess Snow Blowers Direct got to keep that money since it apparently didn't go to the delivery company. That's $50.00 down the toilet. It's a shame you don't know in advance who's going to deliver the equipment so you could... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Heavy, Bad Instructions
Duane Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Duane,
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience shopping with us. I do apologize for the information provided by the driver in regards to the lift gate service charge. The lift gate service indeed is charged by the trucking company to indeed secure the lift gate is present when the snow blower is delivered.

We do apologize for the issues that occurred during the assembly process. Rest assured we will be sharing this feedback with Cub Cadet to make sure that they are aware of the issues with the assembly instructions and the issues regarding their customer service line.

We also do apologize for the issues that occurred when you called into troubleshoot the issue with us here at Snow Blowers Direct. In the future if you have an issues or a concern you can ask for me directly, I am at extension 163 and my first name is Robert and I would be glad to assist you further.

I do sincerely apologize for the issues you have experienced. We are here to help and once again please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need anything in the future.
more
Was this review helpful?
76
David C.
Standish, ME
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/18/17
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Life Saver
We bought this after a storm dumped 24 inches on us and after shoveling that I ordered this and what a life saver! A week later we got hit with snow again. The only issue we had was the light bulb came out of the light socket in the housing. It was a pain to get out when it was like 20 deg out. However Snowblowers Direct did a great job getting it to me with fast shipping.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you are pleased with your 3X 24". Here at Cub Cadet, Strongsville isn't about where you live, it's about how you live. We encourage citizens of Strongsville to take pride in their work. You can learn more about what Strongsville stands for here: http://bit.ly/1ROYpL6.
more
Was this review helpful?
-10
Vincent G.
Chicagoland, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/9/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Sorry, Not All It's Cracked Up To Be
The engine is great and it can throw wet snow pretty good. The levers that disengage each wheel make it easy to move in tight spaces when storing. Adjusting the chute is difficult, that is an engineering FAIL.

If I could have tried a few 24" models side by side in snow I would have probably bought one that was 1/2 the price and been totally happy.
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Vincent Does Not Recommend This Product
Vincent's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Found best price here. I opted to save $50 and take delivery without the liftgate truck. It was delivered with a liftgate truck for no extra charge. Just wondering if they look to bang you for the extra $50 knowing a liftgate is part of the standard delivery."
 more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Vincent,
Thank you very much for your business and I'm glad that we were able to provide the best price on your machine. I do apologize if you were under the impression that paying for lift gate service is not needed to get lift gate service. The lift gate service indeed is charged by the trucking company to secure the lift gate is present when the snow blower is delivered. If you have any questions regarding your machine, please do not hesitate to give me a call. Thank you again for your business and I hope to deal with you again soon!
Was this review helpful?
01
Neil S.
Morganville, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/6/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Problems
Bought this last year to replace my 1984 Toro 524. Just had first snow fall, so I was able to test it out. Worked great, especially on the wall the plow makes across my driveway. First two forward speeds are slow, third forward is too fast. Otherwise, so far - so good.
Pros: Features, I'd Buy It Again
Neil Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Neil's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Bought generators in the past and now snowblower. Great company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Gary T.
Coeur Dalene, ID
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/14/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Still Waiting For That 1st Snow
This was my second snowblower. The first one was damaged in shipping. Sump Pumps Direct was great, representative was kind and helpful. I was sent a second blower in express delivery.

The unit was easy to assemble with the exception of the owners manual, which has real fine print. My blower is put together but I've yet to start it. More to come when the snow flies.
Gary Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Georgia K.
Lindenhurst, NY
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/23/14
Total Helpful Votes
37 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Snow Blower Ever
I live in New York. We had major snow storms this week. This blower worked like a champ.

I did 6 houses on my block, ran the machine for 7 hours straight, and never had to clean the chute of ice.

I recommend this machine to any homeowner.
Georgia Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
372
Keith C.
Chelmsford, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/13/14
Total Helpful Votes
33 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
So So At Best....
I recently purchased the Cub Cadet 3X, 24", 277cc model and I am not impressed. The machine barely handled 3" of wet snow. The joystick shoot controls are awkward, all plastic and not the best design. If it's light fluffy snow you might be ok with this machine, but hard to recommend.
Keith Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Keith,
You may want to contact Cub Cadet about this at (877) 428-2349. A lot of people we've heard from say this model works great for piles at the end of the driveway and for breaking up deep, frozen snow.

Find out from Cub Cadet if there's anything they can do while it's still warrantied.
more
Was this review helpful?
3312
Steve G.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/20/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far, So Great
I'm just a homeowner. Never had a snowblower before, just kids, who are now in college, leaving me to shovel mounds of Colorado snow.

Shelled out big bucks for this beast, but I must say it's a wonder to behold. Almost too much machine, but when it's snowing horizontally, you can't have too much, right?

Sadly, it was a little more brain damage than I bargained for to get it assembled and running. The user's manuals are cryptic and I guess I'd hoped for a little more hand-holding from Snow... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Steve Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
287
Andrew M.
Doylestown, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/20/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow!
Bought this one to replace a 5.5 HP Craftsman that was about 10 years old. The Craftsman did the job unless the snow was wet which caused it to clog the discharge.

I'm getting too old to deal with that problem. Less than a week after I got the Cub Cadet, we got 8" of wet snow - no problem.

I'll like to thank Snow Blowers Direct - I ordered the snow blower on a Friday and it was delivered on the next Tuesday.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Andrew Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
162
Doak N.
Chadron, NE
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/22/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Go Big Yellow!
This Cub Cadet snow blower is my first ever... up to this point I've used the scoop & a lot of elbow grease. Here's my feedback so far:

1) Shipping was very fast & professional (Brown Transport - Scottsbluff, Nebraska) given the wintry/snow covered roads in our part of the world. Shipping crate had a few minor dings on it, but machine was well protected on the inside with no visual signs of damage anywhere.

2) Assembly was quick & easy thanks to some well illustrated... more
Doak Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
195
George P.
Johnston, RI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/7/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
As indicated elsewhere, Snow Blowers Direct is easy to do business with, knowlegable and responsive to my two phone questions. In particular, their product delivery system is first rate.

The Cub Cadet 3X requires very little assembly swing the handle up, attach the chute to the body and connect a rod for the one hand joy stick control of the chute. Engine starts right up manually if you follow the starting instructions. Have not needed to use the electric start feature, even in 0-10... more
George Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
152
Jeffrey S.
Lincolnshire, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/3/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet 3x (24') 277 Cc Test
I got the opportunity to use the newly acquired unit yesterday removing a 7' shush.Using a shute lubricant the unit performed way beyong expectation on a very wet , heavy mixture. The 3-stage configuration makes the difference! The 277 cc engine also contributed to the success.
Jeffrey Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Ryan
Boston, MA
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Gimmic
I had high hopes for this 3X model -- look at the sales video, he pushes the snow so far in the air --WOW -- I live in Boston and this blower is nothing more than wishful thinking -- Let me take that back!! If you live in an area where the snow is powder and fun to play in than this is great -- BUT if you live in MA where the snow is WET, HARD, Heavy, and so much -- this is not for you -- I just posted this blower on Craigslist.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Ryan Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Ryan,
We are sorry to hear about the difficult experience you had with the Cub Cadet snow blower you purchased. Our advice would be to voice your opinion to Cub Cadet at 1-877-282-8684. I'm sure they would appreciate the feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
179
Gene H.
Red Lion, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed
I'm impressed with the ease that it went threw that hard snow that the snow plows let along the street.

Also used it in a wet snow and impressed with how far it threw it. Very happy with my purchase.
Gene Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Perry F.
Brightwood, VA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/26/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
Easy to assemble and operate.
Perry Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Orestes V.
Allentown, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/18/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Update Review!
Well, back in October when I first purchased this snowblower, I reviewed it and gave it 5 Stars on overall quality and features. Today my update review is focused on its overall performance, we just had a major storm here in the NE which dropped a whopping 32 inches of snow on my driveway! Needless to say it was prime time to put my 24" 3-stage Cub Cadet to the test and see if it could get me out of this bind that Mother Nature had just put me through!

Bottom Line: My realistic... more
Orestes Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
31
William
East Islip, NY
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Should Have Read The Other Reviews
Bought this machine in Oct of 2015. Used it today (1/23/16) for the first snow of 2015/16. Went through 7 shear pins in approximately 2.5 hours of use.

Looked on-line for issues and found many other people with the same complaint. Calling the dealer for return policy on Monday. Going back to Ariens machines.
William Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
87
Duane S.
Chambersburg, PA
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Disappointed
I bought this snowblower to handle the recent snowmageddon. However, after 15 minutes of blowing powdery snow, I broke 2 shear pins. It takes a couple of hours to do my driveway, at over a dollar a pin, I'll have over $10.00 in shear pins. Plus the 3 stage does not cut into the snow as good as a 2 stage. Moreover the product is cheaply made.
Pros: Features
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Difficult To Use, Expensive
Duane Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
66
Orestes V.
Allentown, PA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/18/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Snowblower From Cub Cadet!
Haven't had any snow here in the NE yet, so can't really say much about its performance! I did put it together which was easy enough, put some oil in it and started it (both manually and with the starter) with no problems at all! It is a high quality snowblower and I'm really looking forward to see how it performs once we get a significant snowfall!

The heated handles, steering assist, and one-hand chute operation are really nice features that work really well! So, on overall appearance,... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Orestes Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
48
Walter A.
Harrison, OH
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/19/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New Cub Cadet 24" Snow Blower
Have had no snow. It arrived and with just minor assembly and I have practiced with it. The printed instructions were not that clear, but a phone call to Cub Cadet and all is well. The snow insurance is working. I have not had to use the blower yet.
Walter Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
3162
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Cub Cadet 3524SWE three stage snow blower reviews.Compare our Cub Cadet 3524SWE ratings. Find the Cub Cadet 3524SWE three stage snow blower that is right for you.