Free Shipping On Snow Blowers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Snow Blowers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Toro 1028OHXE Gas Two Stage Snow Blowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,799.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,799.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 38802 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Features (3)
High Quality (3)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Easy To Use (3)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Not Sure It Will Last (1)
I would have liked the h... (1)
Durability (1)
92% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
12 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Phil
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Right Tool For The Job
My 10HP 27" Noma performed admirably (in NJ) for 18 years even though I really didn't maintain it at all. Then last year I took the plunge with Toro Power Max HD 1028 OHXE (28") 302cc Two-Stage Snow Blower, so only one winter so far, but we have a few deeps ones.

This thing is very solid. Transmission control has a thick metal slotted plate, so you can change gears with vigor and not worry about wearing out the plate. Auger housing has very solid construction supports can't deform... more
Pros: Higher Power Engine
Phil Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
31
William C.
Libby, MT
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/10/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Snowblower, American Made
We have owned an 8 hp, 26" track mounted, MTD snowblower for 20 years, but age and use caught up with it during this heavy snow year, so we bought the Toro 1028 wheel driven machine. I really liked the tracks since it allowed the auger to be lifted up an inch or 2 for transport as well as improved traction for some gently inclined areas I need to clear. The ability to lift the front end was really handy for our gravel driveway and trails across our lawn.

We just purchased the Toro and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Features
Cons: Expensive
William Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kevin M.
Dedham, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/19/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Let It Snow!
I bought this snowblower to replace a twenty two year old Toro that I ruined after tilting it back on its handles while running to clear ice from the machine. I looked at a lot of other machines but decided to stay with Toro since my other one lasted so long. After the winter we had two years ago I wanted a machine that would handle anything that mother nature could throw at us and blow over a five foot snow bank. I just had a chance to use this on a twelve inch snowstorm with drifts up to... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: I would have liked the handles to be adjustable.
Kevin Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
10
James L.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/17/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Power Max Hd 1028 Ohxe (28") 302cc Two-stage Snow Blower
Great snow blower. Easy setup with clear instructions. Hit prime bulb three times, set choke on, throttle half way and half a pull to start really easy starting.

Eats snow and throws a long way. Super easy turning with lever to disengage wheel (one hand operation). Comes with oil - add gas and go! Colorado Springs snow is no problem for this Toro. Highly recommended.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
James Recommends This Toro Product
James's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great snow blower. Easy unpacking and installation. Operation is very easy. Great service from Snow Blowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert H
Lebanon, PA
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
3 Years And Still In Love!
Although this machine was a bit more expensive than other blowers in its size, I am so happy with this purchase.

It makes no difference if it is a dry powdery snow, a wet heavy snow, or even slush. This machine throws it and never seems to bog the motor down.

Expensive, but well worth it.
Robert Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
201
Bob B.
Riverton, NJ
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/19/14
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simply Put: Wow!
Replaced a 16 year old Craftsman blower that was completely shot. Read other reviews of this and struggled between this one and the Cub Cadet 3-stage. But, I have other Toro equipment, and have always known if you buy a Toro, you're making a good choice.

I'm from NJ, last winter was pretty rough. This winter has not been. We had one inch of snow the other day, followed by 1/2 inch of rain. The temperature was over 32 degrees, so we had nothing but slush. Walking the dog is my first... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Nothing Seems To Stop It
Cons: Expensive
Bob Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
223
Kathleen M.
Naperville, IL
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/1/15
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Remove The Snow!!
we were hit is a record snowfall and our equipment was challenged to clear the sidewalks and keep up with the City plows that piled on our walks. I found this product on line on a Sunday night and it was delivered by Wednesday morning.

This blower eats through the snow and piles as if they were powder. We were so impressed at how it handled the challenges and would have ordered a 2nd unit, but they were sold out. I HIGHLY recommend this snow blower
Kathleen Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
151
Joshua B.
Morrison, CO
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/17/15
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just. Buy. It.
Live at 7200 feet - foothills outside Denver. I can fit about 14 cars in my driveway and have a mild up slope coming off the garage. This thing rocks. I literally just walked in from snowblowing and it cut through 2.5ft drifts left by the plows no problem. Great machine, brand I trust, worth every penny.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Joshua Recommends This Toro Product
Joshua's Experience With Snow Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I am a repeat customer."
 more
Was this review helpful?
120
David A.
Trenton, NJ
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine, Reliable And Effective
I have the 10 year old version of this machine. And it is outstanding !! The trigger grips for steering make it MUCH easier to handle, I can't imagine a day on this machine without them. It's a heavy unit at about 225# so manhandling this BEAST without steering would not be fun.

It is VERY reliable and starts right up. First start of the season usually requires a little help from the 110 VAC electric starter. I have had very little maintenance on it. One cable broke for the auger... more
David Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Thomas
Leominster, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sticking With Toro
I have a 29 year old Toro that never gives me problems. I needed a larger snow thrower for this brutal N.E. winter. This does a fantastic job at a reasonable price. My only disappointment is the engine is made in China.

I would be willing to pay a little more to employ people here, but even the Briggs are made overseas. I'm not sure it will last like my old 520 with the USA made Tecumseh engine. Time will tell.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Durability, Not Sure It Will Last
Thomas Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
123
Neil G.
Harvard, MA
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
05
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Jury Is Still Out.....
Finally had some snow today, put this baby together last night. Very straight forward, seems like a nice unit.
Only problem was the screw to the deflector chute was not to be found (98-1375 screw-hwh). Do not think that I lost it, should have been pre-assembled from what I gather.

Needless to say, my old clunker gets one more swan song while I wait for a $1.22 screw to come in ups red for $25 and some change. Better than spending 2 hours trying to get a free screw.

Will update when i... more
Neil Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
32
J. D.
Warwick, RI
Purchased from Snow Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Bad But Stops Running In 1st Gear...
Have an Ariens 7HP which is 45 years old...rebuilt the drive to the auger twice...had trouble with carburetor that I did not recognize until I ordered the new one...spring under jet had lost tension causing the screw to vibrate "in" and starve the engine for fuel...discovered it by accident..oh well.
This one runs good but runs out of drive to the wheels in first gear...in deep snow..just when you need it...
J. Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
733
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 38802 gas two stage snow blower reviews.Compare our Toro 1028OHXE ratings. Find the Toro 38802 gas two stage snow blower that is right for you.